top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Semifinals Recap

Hey guys! Welcome to my semifinals recap.

I can't believe this season is almost over and I have one recap left. I really wish DWTS would bring back spring seasons instead of just one season a year because I hate waiting one full year for another season. This week, there were two rounds of competition. So, I'm going to start with round 1.



Wayne & Witney

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Beggin'" by Maneskin

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 9

First of all, congratulations to Witney, her husband and her son for expecting baby number 2.

As for the dance, it was amazing. However, I feel like it could've been a bit more sharper.

Check out their dance:


Daniel & Britt

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Surprise Yourself" by Jack Garratt

Judges' scores - 9, 8, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 8.5

This was great but I also feel like it was kinda skippy at times and his frame could've been better.

Check out their dance:



Shangela & Gleb

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "The Edge of Glory" by Lady Gaga

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 9

I loved this! It was sharp, high energy, and powerful. However, compared to some of the other dances, I just didn't enjoy it as much.

Check out their dance:



Charli & Mark

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Glimpse of Us" by Joji

Judges' scores - 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score - 10

Pure perfection.

Check out their dance:



Trevor & Emma

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Satisfied" by Galantis feat. MAX

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8

I loved the choreo and the first but it just felt kinda flat footed to me.

Check out their dance:



Gabby & Val

Dance - Waltz

Song - "I'm Kissing You" by Des'ree

Judges' scores - 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score - 9.5

This was amazing. I just felt like it wasn't her best dance and I liked some of some of this week's dances more.

Check out their dance:


That's it for round one. Now, onto round two.


Wayne & Witney

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "It's a Man's Man's Man's World" by James Brown

Judges' scores - 10, 9, 9, 9 = 37/40

My score - 10

The fact that this didn't get a perfect score is beyond me. The footwork was amazing, his frame was great and his lines were beautiful.

Check out their dance:



Daniel & Britt

Dance -Samba

Song - "Light It Up (Remix)" by Major Lazer feat. Nyla and Fuse ODG

Judges' scores - 9, 8, 9, 8 = 34/40

My score - 8

This was fun and I loved the fits. However, I just felt like it was a bit flat footed.

Check out their dance:



Shangela & Gleb

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "I Have Nothing" by Whitney Houston

Judges' scores - 10, 9, 9, 9 = 37/40

My score - 9/10

This was beautiful. Her lines were nice and her frame was great. However, some of the moves just seemed a bit awkward to me.

Check out their dance:



Charli & Mark

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Espana cani" by Pascual Marquina

Judges' scores - 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score - 10

Easily the best paso doble I've ever seen on any dance show ever. Perfection.

Check out their dance:



Trevor & Emma

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Count On Me" by Judah Kelly

Judges' scores - 9, 8, 8, 8 = 33/40

My score - 8.5

I really liked this. However, I also feel like it was a bit skippy too and his frame also seemed a bit off to me but I liked it better than his cha cha. I'm also a massive fan of his so it sucks to see him go.

Check out their dance:



Gabby & Val

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Malaguena" by Brian Setzer

Judges' scores - 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score - 9.5

This was incredible. I just wasn't as sharp and powerful as I would've liked it to be.

Check out their dance:



So, those are all of the dances. Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Charli & Mark's Paso doble

  2. Wayne & Witney's Viennese Waltz

  3. Charli & Mark's Viennese Waltz

  4. Wayne & Witney's Paso Doble

  5. Gabby & Val's Paso Doble

  6. Trevor & Emma's Viennese Waltz

  7. Shangela & Gleb's Viennese Waltz

  8. Shangela & Gleb's Paso Doble

  9. Gabby & Val's Waltz

  10. Daniel & Britt's Viennese Waltz

  11. Trevor & Emma's Cha Cha

  12. Daniel & Britt's Samba


Next, I will show the dances for the finale.

First, the redemption round:

  1. Gabby & Val - Cha Cha to "I Like It (Like That)" by Pete Rodriguez

  2. Charli & Mark - Jive to "Grown" by Little Mix

  3. Shangela & Gleb - Quickstep to "Queen Bee" by Rochelle Diamante

  4. Wayne & Witney - Quickstep to "(Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher" by Jackie Wilson

Next, the freestyle round:

  1. Gabby & Val - Freestyle to "Cell Block Tango" from Chicago

  2. Charli & Mark - Freestyle to "Us Again" by Pinar Toprak

  3. Shangela & Gleb - Freestyle to "Survivor/Call Me Mother" by Destiny's Child/RuPaul

  4. Wayne & Witney - Freestyle to "Get Up/24K Magic" by Ciara feat. Chamillionaire/Bruno Mars


So, that's it for this week's recap. Later this week, I will post my Survivor Series: War Games predictions and next week, I will post my final DWTS recap of the year (I'm gonna miss it).

Until then,

~Brianna.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page