top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 30, Week 1 Recap

Hey guys! Welcome to my first recap of DWTS season 30! Just like last year, I will be talking about all of the dances and giving my scores on them and I will be doing this for every show up until the finale so expect one of these from me every Monday. So, let's get into it.



Melanie C & Gleb

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Wannabe" by the Spice Girls

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 6, 7 = 27/40

My score - 7

What a way to start the season! Mel can definitely dance and she killed this cha cha. However, she could loosen up a bit more at times but she's already very polished and clean and she's definitely one to watch.



The Miz & Witney

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Butter" by BTS

Judges' scores - 6, 6, 6, 6 = 24/40

My score - 6

As you all know already, I'm a big wrestling lover so seeing the Miz on one of my favorite shows like DWTS is so exciting for me and obviously, I want him to go far and maybe even win. He is in my top 4. Anyway, as for the dance, it was so fun to watch. He was a bit stiff at times but I loved this dance, he has so much potential, and I'm so excited for his tango tonight and his other dances to come (hopefully he doesn't get eliminated tonight). It's also great to see Witney back.



Iman & Daniella

Dance - Jive

Song - "Hey ya!" by Outkast

Judges' scores - 7, 4, 5, 5 = 21/40

My score - 7

For me, this was the most entertaining dance of the night. Sure, some of the steps might have been a little stiff (mostly towards the beginning) but, the dance was freaking incredible and he's definitely the most surprising star I've seen on this show. I've watched this dance maybe 1000 times since the premiere and I'm still just as impressed as I was the first time I watched it and of course, Daniella served with her choreography once again.



Olivia & Val

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Juice" by Lizzo

Judges' scores - 7, 6, 6, 6 = 25/40

My score - 7

This dance was great. I didn't know what to expect from Olivia in terms of dancing skills but she crushed this dance! Definitely one of my favorites of the night.



Jimmie & Emma

Dance - Tango

Song - "The way I are" by Timbaland ft. Keri Hilson

Judges' scores - 6, 5, 6, 5 = 22/40

My score - 6

This dance was great! Some of the moves were a bit awkward to me but his footwork was great and his frame was amazing so he has lots of potential.



Melora & Artem

Dance - Tango

Song - "Simply irresistible" by Robert Palmer

Judges' scores - 7, 6, 7, 6 = 26/40

My score - 6

Melora really surprised me. She did better than I expected, honestly. She did lose her balance a bit in the beginning but other than that, this was a pretty solid dance.



Suni & Sasha

Dance - Jive

Song - "Stay" by The Kid Laroi & Justin Bieber

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 7 = 28/40

My score - 7

This dance is another favorite of the night for me. I was entertained the entire time. However, she seemed a little nervous during the performance so I think that some of her moves were a bit "tense" so I feel like once she becomes less nervous and loosens up more, she could really nail every performance.



Cody & Cheryl

Dance - Tango

Song - "Physical" by Dua Lipa

Judges' scores - 6, 6, 6, 6 = 24/40

My score - 6

This dance was amazing. I think Cody has the footwork down but he could work on his frame a bit more because I think his frame was a bit rough. Also, if you guys didn't know, during the night, Cheryl tested positive for COVID. My prayers go out to her and Cody has taken a COVID test, too so as of now, no one knows if he's still in the competition or has to drop out. If his test comes back negative, he will dance with an alternate pro. So, again, my prayers go out to Cheryl and I'm praying that Cody's test is negative so he can stay in the competition.



Amanda & Alan

Dance - Tango

Song - "Dance Again" by Jennifer Lopez & Pitbull

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 7 = 28/40

My score - 7

This was amazing! Amanda's technique is already amazing and she maintained an incredible frame throughout the performance.



Martin & Britt

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "You're The Best" by Joe Esposito

Judges' scores - 4, 3, 3, 3 = 13/40

My score - 4

He looked like he was enjoying himself but he also looked like he forgot some of the steps. He was also very stiff. I can unfortunately see him going home tonight.



Kenya & Brandon

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "Kiss Me More" by Doja Cat ft. SZA

Judges' scores - 7, 6, 6, 7 = 26/40

My score - 7

First of all, Kenya looked absolutely stunning and her dress was beautiful. Second, Kenya's lines were so beautiful and this dance was so elegant. She definitely has tons of potential and this was a very solid week 1 dance.



Christine & Pasha

Dance - Tango

Song - "Glamorous" by Fergie & Ludacris

Judges' scores - 6, 7, 6, 6 = 25/40

My score - 7

This was a pretty solid week 1 performance. Christine's lines were great, her movements were sharp, her frame was pretty good, too. I loved it.



Matt & Lindsay

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Give it to me baby" by Rick James

Judges' scores - 6, 6, 6, 6 = 24/40

My score - 6

This dance was so fun to watch and I love their outfits. There are some things Matt needs to work on like his lines and his footwork but other than that, it was, again, so fun to watch, and a solid week 1 performance. It's also great to see Lindsay back.



Brian & Sharna

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "skate" by Silk Sonic

Judges' scores - 6, 6, 6, 6 = 24/40

My score - 7

Brian handled the technique of this dance very well and his frame was great. He has a lot of potential and I think this couple can do very well in this competition.



Jojo & Jenna

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Are you gonna be my girl" by Jet

Judges' scores - 8, 7, 7, 7 = 29/40

My score - 7

Holy wow, this was amazing. Jojo's lines and her frame was absolutely incredible and this dance was so fun to watch. Of course, Jenna slipped but besides that mishap, this dance was probably the best of the night. I'm also super happy that they're the first same-sex pairing on the show and this was an incredible way to end the show.




So, that's my recap for DWTS week 1 of this year. As I mentioned before, I will do one of these every Monday and I will also make another blog post besides that another day of the week.

Before I sign off, I want to give a huge shoutout to my amazing boyfriend, Isaac. I love and miss you!

Until next time,

~Brianna.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page