top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 29, week 6

Hey guys!

Welcome to another blog post. Today, I am doing my recap for week 6 of DWTS 29.

Since I missed the last couple of weeks (week 3), I will be talking about the dances, but I won't be doing a full recap for each one. What I'm going to do is give a score for all of the dances but I won't include the judge's scores and the song for each one as well as my explanation for giving that score from those weeks and then I'll get into this weeks recap.


Week 4:

  1. Nelly & Daniella's paso - 6

  2. Chrishell & Gleb's foxtrot - 7

  3. Monica & Val's samba - 8

  4. Anne & Keo's paso - 6

  5. Nev & Jenna's rumba - 8

  6. Justina & Sasha's salsa - 9

  7. Kaitlyn & Artem's viennese waltz - 9

  8. Johnny & Britt's jive - 9

  9. Jeannie & Brandon's tango - 8

  10. Vernon & Peta's rumba - 7

  11. Jesse & Sharna's cha cha - 7

  12. Skai & Alan's foxtrot - 10

  13. Aj & Cheryl's cha cha - 7


Week 5 (80s night):

  1. Justina & Sasha's jazz - 9

  2. Jesse & Sharna's tango - 6

  3. Chrishell & Gleb's cha cha - 7

  4. Jeannie & Brandon's jazz - 9

  5. Monica & Val's tango - 9

  6. Aj & Cheryl's waltz - 8

  7. Skai & Alan's jazz - 8

  8. Vernon & Peta's tango - 6

  9. Kaitlyn & Artem's tango - 9

  10. Nelly & Daniella's samba - 8

  11. Johnny & Britt's contemporary - 10

  12. Nev & Jenna's quickstep - 8


So, those are the 2 weeks that I missed. So, now onto week 6.



Johnny Weir & Britt Stewart

Dance: salsa

Song: "On the floor" by Jennifer Lopez ft. Pitbull

Scores: 7,8,7 = 22/30

My score - 8


This dance was kind of a minor setback for Johnny. The dance was really good however, things got lost with some of the armwork and a couple of the lifts were a bit of a struggle and Johnny's energy seemed a bit "softer" than usual but the hip movements were great and the dance was pretty good.




Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Dance: jazz

Song: "Good Vibrations" by Marky Mark & The Funky Bunch

Scores: 9,9,8 = 26/30

My score: 9


Besides some missed hand placements, this dance was phenomenal. Period.




Monica Aldama & Val Chamerkovskiy

Dance: Rumba

Song: "Have I Told You Lately" by Rod Stewart

Scores: 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score: 9


This dance was so freakin' good. The only thing about it, though, is it didn't stand out to me like a couple of the other dances but I think that's because Monica has such a calm and pleasant demeanor to her.




Skai Jackson & Alan Bersten

Dance: Cha cha

Song: "Say So" by Doja Cat

Scores: 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score: 7.5


Okay, I think the judges are wayyyyyy to harsh on Skai. She made like two mistakes and she gets four points taken off of her score. Literally, if she hadn't made those mistakes, I would've given that dance a nine. There's no way this dance deserves 6s. But, hey, I'm not the judge. The judges know what they're doing but from a fans perspective, that dance did not deserve a single 6 and I think this dance deserved at lease one 8.




Vernon Davis & Peta Murgatroyd

Dance: cha cha

Song: :"Celebration" by Kool and The Gang

Scores: 7,7,7 = 21/30

My score: 7


This Cha-Cha didn’t have the cleanest footwork ever, but it got the job done. I loved how Vernon really got into the music and gave us that staple hip action of his. Unfortunately, there were a few mistakes and sections in which his feet felt heavy. This dance wasn't the best of the night by any means but I still liked it.




Nelly & Daniella Karagach

Dance: viennese waltz

Song: "Humble & Kind" by Tim McGraw

Scores: 8,8,8 = 24/30

My score: 7


I’ve said this 500 times before, but for the 501st time I just want to say that I love these two! Nelly has been coming out of his shell more and more every week, is lovely to see considering how guarded he seemed to be early on in the season. Between Nelly’s increasing ease of movement and Daniella’s very pretty choreography, this Viennese Waltz has become my favorite dance of theirs yet. The major issues that Nelly can work on, though, are his stiff shoulders, flat footedness, and lack of rise and fall. Nelly is taking a slow trajectory this season, but it is a trajectory nonetheless!




Jeannie Mai & Brandon Armstrong

Dance: Rumba

Song: "You Gotta Be" by Des'ree

Scores: 8,8,9

My score: 8


First of all, the part of the rehearsal package where Jeannie talks about her family’s scary yet inspiring emmigration from Vietnam to the United States was very powerful. It was mind blowing, but it was also quite moving, too. The Rumba was another one of Jeannie and Brandon’s pleasant-to-watch dances with their delicate ease of movement and Jeannie’s beautiful lines. I also think Jeannie could work some more on her time changes and transitions between fast and slow, which can make all the difference in her routines.




Aj McLean & Cheryl Burke

Dance: Samba

Song: "Mi Gente" by J Balvin & Willy William

Scores: 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score: 9


AJ really loosened up with this, which is nice to see after his sort of stiff Waltz last week. One thing AJ has to work on, though, is his footwork. With a little more flexibility and pointedness with his feet, his overall technique would look even better than it already does.




Chrishell Stause & Gleb Savchenko

Dance: Contemporary

Song: "Stars" by Grace Potter & The Nocturnals

Scores: 8,8,8 = 24/30

My score: 9


Man oh man is Chrishell’s story tragic. Not only did she lose one parent to lung cancer, but she lost two parents to it. What are the chances? This Contemporary was a wonderful tribute to her parents, and it happens to be what I consider her best dance so far this season. This style of dance suits Chrishell very well, because despite a minor timing issue, this was nearly perfect. In fact, I think she was very underscored for this performance. She had a great connection with Gleb, her toes were gorgeously pointed, and her lines were full of fluidity and lyricism.




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Dance: Samba

Song: "Sorry" by Justin Bieber

Scores: 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score: 9


These two were super sexy and, unlike Carrie Ann, I thought the dance was fun to watch. I do think it could have been more hard-hitting and less mechanical, but it overall a pleasant performance. Kaitlyn is one of the top contestants this season, but if there is one thing she could work on, I think it would be how much attack she puts into her the more upbeat dances—she needs more of it!




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Dance: Viennese Waltz

Song: "She's Always A Woman" by Billy Joel

Scores: 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score: 9


You just gotta love someone who tries to get other people to love themselves! Justina was very elegant with this Viennese Waltz, even more so than her already elegant Foxtrot from week two. The flow in her extensions is absolutely stunning, and her turns are quite impressive. Towards the end it felt like she was chasing the music a bit, which made a couple sections feel cut off and hesitant. Justina and Sasha killed it, though, and they have been making me smile week after week!




So, that is it for today's blog post.

Come back next week for two more blog post (a regular one and my DWTS recap for week 7 which is Villains night).

~Brianna

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page