top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 28, Week 1

Hey guys!

So, this week I've decided to do something I've never done before.

Yes, I have done a DWTS post before but I've never done one like this.

If you guys didn't know, the premiere of Dancing with the Stars season 28 was this past Monday and of course, I watched it because I am completely obsessed with the show.

There were some great dances so, I've decided to give you my thought on all of the performances.

Before I get started, I just want to let y'all know that I will not be doing this every week. I like to make different posts every week, so, if there is a week that I don't know what to do for my blog, I will talk about the Dancing with the stars episode that aired the Monday before. Does that make sense?

So, I'm just going to start with the first performance.


Hannah Brown (the Bachelorette) and Alan Bersten

Dance - Cha cha

Song - "I wanna dance with somebody (who loves me)" by Whitney Houston

Scores - 7, 7, 6 = 20/30

My score - 7


I absolutely loved this dance. It was one of my favorite dances of the night. The movements seemed a little unsteady at time but it had great technique and it was a proper cha cha. They're already one of my favorite couples and I can't wait to see them dance next week!




Kel Mitchell (Kenan and Kel) and Witney Carson

Dance - Tango

Song - "Sucker" by the Jonas Brothers

Scores - 6, 5, 5 = 16/30

My score - 6


This dance was good. However, I feel like Kel could've been a bit more smooth and parts of the dance seemed pretty choppy to me, but, Kel has a lot of potential and I think he's going to do better next week.




Kate Flannery (the office) and Pasha Pashkov

Dance - Cha cha

Song - "She works hard for the money" by Donna Summer

Scores - 5, 5, 5 = 15/30

My score - 6


Kate really impressed me. However, I feel like the choreography was a bit all over the place. I am excited to watch Kate dance all season, though. She's already so entertaining and I'm loving this couple so far.




Sailor Brinkley Cook (model) and Val Chmerkovskiy

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "Uptown Girl" by Billy Joel

Scores - 6, 6, 6, = 18/30

My score - 7


I don't know if you guys know this, but, Sailor wasn't originally cast to be on the show this season. Her Mom, Christie Brinkley was. However, about 5 days before the premiere, Christie unfortunately broke her mom and she had to leave the competition. So, Sailor decided to fill in for her and Sailor had only three days to rehearse and learn this dance.

I loved this dance. Her lines were absolutely gorgeous, but there were some parts in this dance where I felt like Sailor kind of flung her body around a little bit but other than that, I absolutely loved this dance and for someone who only had three days to rehearse, she really impressed me.

If she can do that good in just three days, I'm pretty sure she's going to do amazing in one week.




Lamar Odom (Basketball player) and Peta Murgatroyd

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "Feeling good" by Michael Buble

Scores - 5, 3, 3 = 11/30

My score - 5


I think one of the tougher obstacles that this couple will overcome would be the height difference. Lamar is 6'10" and Peta is 5'7", so, clearly, Lamar is much taller than Peta.

This dance was very slow and simple which I didn't mind at all. I just felt like Lamar was just a little stiff at times, but if he just loosens up a little bit, he could do way better.

Plus, he did wayyyyyy better than a three. I mean, come on, judges!




Lauren Alaina (Country singer) and Gleb Savchenko

Dance - Cha cha

Song - "Man! I feel like a woman" by Shania Twain

Scores - 7, 6, 6 = 19/30

My score - 7


I already love Lauren. I'm just going to say that this dance was very smooth and fluid. She killed it.




Karamo (Queer eye) and Jenna Johnson

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Juice" by Lizzo

Scores - 6, 5, 6 = 17/30

My score - 6.5


I freaking loved this dance. It was so much fun to watch and Karamo killed it.

I loved all of the lifts Jenna put into this dance but once or twice in this dance, I feel like Karamo was a little stiff but that was like once or twice.

All I can say is I can see Karamo making it extremely far, maybe to week 8 or so and I can't wait to see him dance next week.

Side note: I don't think this dance should have gotten a 5.




Ray Lewis (Football linebacker) and Cheryl Burke

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Hot in herre" by Nelly

Scores - 5, 5, 5 = 15/30

My score - 6


I can already tell Ray is a fun guy and a lot of fun to watch this season. He is also a great performer and I feel like he proved that in this Salsa. However, I do feel like Cheryl danced around him quite a bit and I think I did see a few mistakes in this dance. Other than that, this dance was great and I can't wait to see what this team does next week.




Mary Wilson (singer, the Supremes) and Brandon Armstrong

Dance - foxtrot

Song - "Baby love" by the Supremes

Scores - 6, 5, 6 = 17/30

My score - 6


Mary really impressed me with this dance, especially at 75 years old.

She was super elegant. Definitely not perfect bu she was very poised.

She did way better than I expected and I love this pairing!




Ally Brooke (singer, Fifth Harmony) and Sasha Farber

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Work from home" by Fifth Harmony

Scores - 5, 5, 6 = 16/30

My score - 6


I liked the dance a lot.

The dance wasn't perfect, no but she definitely has a lot of potential. It was a little messy at times but once she cleans that up, her dances are going to be almost perfect.

I also really love this pairing.




James Van Der Beek (actor) and Emma Slater

Dance - tango

Song - "Whatever it takes" by Imagine Dragons

Scores - 7, 7, 7 = 21/30

My score - 7.5


I'm obsessed with this dance. This was probably the best dance of the whole night in my opinion. These two did not come to play. They owned the show.

James was so smooth with all of his movements. His movements did not seem forced at all and his lines were almost perfect, in my opinion.

After the cast reveal, Ally was my pick to win, but after seeing James and Emma's dance, I wouldn't be mad one bit if they won. I think they're my new pick to win.




Sean Spicer (Former white house press secretary) and Lindsay Arnold

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Spice up for your life" by the Spice Girls

Scores - 4, 4, 4 = 12/30

My score - 4.5


First of all, Sean Spicer reminds me of my English and Writing teacher (if you're in my Writing or English class, you should know who I'm talking about).

Anyway, Sean really surprised me. He messed up a bit and was kind of stiff at times and sometimes it felt like Lindsay was sort of dancing around him but, it was way better than expected. It was full of energy and I'm excited to see what they do next week.




Those were all of the dances.

Like I said at the beginning of this blog post, I'll only be doing these types of blogs when I have nothing else planned, or do you want me to post twice a week while this season in on the go (a dwts recap post and a regular post)? I could do that, too.


Come back next week for another blog,

~Brianna

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page