top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Recap: Taylor Swift Night

Hey guys! Welcome to another blog post. This week was Taylor Swift night on DWTS so of course, I am doing my recap. There were two rounds - a indiviual round and a relay round. For those of you who don't know what a relay is on DWTS, it's basically like a dance-off but the only difference is the couples aren't dancing at the same time. One couple will dance for one half of the song. The other couple will dance the other half.

So, let's get into it.



Alyson & Sasha

Dance: Cha Cha

Song: "You Belong with Me"

Scores: 7, 7, 8, 7 = 29/40

My score: 7

Okay, this was actually pretty good, but I feel like she's way better in ballroom than latin. Her technique wasn't the greatest but I still had fun watching it. Also, the trick in the dance took up like 10 seconds of it which I didn't really like but whatever.



Ariana & Pasha

Dance: Rumba

Song: "Cruel Summer"

Scores: 9, 9, 9, 10 = 37/40

My score: 9.5

This was so pretty omg. I just love the way she moves, so fluid and pretty and her lines are gorgeous. There was also a lot of Rumba content which I liked so thanks, king Pasha.



Jason & Daniella

Dance: Argentine Tango

Song: "Don't Blame Me"

Scores: 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score: 10

I WAS LIVING FOR THIS! I've always rewatched this like a trillion times and every time I rewatch it, I somehow love it so much more. The choreo was next level insane. It was so clean and so sharp. This might just be my favorite argentine tango ever, honestly.



Harry & Rylee

Dance: Rumba

Song: "August"

Scores: 8, 7, 8, 7 = 30/40

My score: 7

This wasn't great but I loved the choreo. Rylee's choreo for her first season has been incredible. Harry could've moved his hips more and his lines could've been better but I still loved watching it.



Charity & Artem

Dance: Argentine Tango

Song: "Look What You Made Me Do"

Scores: 9, 10, 9, 10 = 28/40

My score: 9.5

100% my favorite dance of hers. The way she finishes her lines and everything is so good and I loved the choreo too.



Xochitl & Val

Dance: Quickstep

Song: "Paper Rings"

Scores: 9, 9, 10, 10 = 38/40

My score: 9

This was great and I really enjoyed it. Something just seemed a bit off for me. I noticed a bit of a gap when they were in hold and she did lose her footing a bbit towards the end but this was still a solid performance and it was so fun to watch.


As for the relay dances, here are the winners for each of them:

  1. Xochitl & Val vs Ariana & Pasha (Viennese Waltz to "Lover") - Xochitl & Val

  2. Alyson & Sasha vs Harry & Rylee (Jive to "Shake it Off") - Alyson & Sasha

  3. Jason & Daniella vs Charity & Artem (Cha Cha to "Lavender Haze") - Jason & Daniella

Here is who I think should have won:

  1. Ariana & Pasha

  2. Alyson & Sasha

  3. Jason & Daniella


Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment (excluding the relay dances):

  1. Jason & Daniella's Argentine Tango

  2. Charity & Artem's Argentine Tango

  3. Ariana & Pasha's Rumba

  4. Harry & Rylee's Rumba

  5. Xochitl & Val's Quickstep

  6. Alyson & Sasha's Cha Cha


Next week is the semifinals. Each couple is doing two dances, so here are the dances for next week:

Round 1:

  1. Alyson & Sasha - Jive to "Footloose" by Kenny Loggins

  2. Ariana & Pasha - Jive to "Runaway Baby" by Bruno Mars

  3. Jason & Daniella - Viennese Waltz to "I Won't Give Up" by Jason Mraz

  4. Charity & Artem - Rumba to "Love the Way You Lie (Part III)" by Skylar Grey

  5. Xochitl & Val - Samba to "Samba" by Gloria Estefan

Round 2:

  1. Alyson & Sasha - "Come Away with Me" by Norah Jones

  2. Ariana & Pasha - Foxtrot to "Trampoline" by Shaed & Zayn

  3. Jason & Daniella - Paso Doble to "Diablo Rojo" by Rodrigo y Gabriela

  4. Charity & Artem - Quickstep to "Boss" by Fifth Harmony

  5. Xochitl & Val - Waltz to "La Vie en rose" by Lady Gaga


That's it for this week's DWTS recap.

Until next week,

~Brianna.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page