top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Recap: Motown Night

Hey guys! Welcome to my DWTS recap for Motown night.

I am not going to make this intro long so, let's get into it.



Barry & Peta

Dance: Tango

Song: "Get Ready" by the Temptations

Scores: 6, 6, 7, 6 = 25/40

My score: 6

This was great. However, I feel like his frame needs a bit of work as well as his footwork but he is definitely the second best male this season. I have been very impressed by him so far.



Lele & Brandon

Dance: Cha Cha

Song: "Super Freak" by Rick James

Scores: 7, 6, 7, 7 = 27/40

My score - 7

This was fun and I liked the choreo. However, it was my least favorite of theirs so far. That is saying something, though because she is easily one of the best this season, without question. This dance was just a little off but she sold it well and she is a very solid performer. Also, that 6 was kind of bullshit, in my opinion.



Mauricio & Emma

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "Working My Way Back to You" by the Spinners

Scores: 7, 5, 6, 5 = 23/40

My score: 6

This is definitely his best dance. However, the frame does need a lot of work and some of the movements were a bit flat footed but he definitely did not deserve the 5s.



Jason & Daniella

Dance: Jive

Song: "Do You Love Me" by the Contours

Scores: 9, 8, 9, 8 = 34/40

My score: 9.5

MY GOD this man can MOVE. This dance was jam packed and FULL of content (thanks, queen Daniella) and this is easily the best Jive I have ever seen. Jason's performance quality is on a whole other level compared to literally everyone else this year. He is the best this season by a whole ass mile. I can clearly see them winning this entire thing.



Alyson & Sasha

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "Ain't No Mountain High Enough" by Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell

Scores: 6, 6, 6, 6 = 24/40

My score: 6

I definitely feel like she is way better in hold. Obviously, she still needs a bit of work but this was still a solid performance and they looked great.



Tyson & Jenna

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "Master Blaster (Jammin')" by Stevie Wonder

Scores: 5, 5, 5, 5 = 20/40

My score: 5.5

Okay, the choreo was nice and they looked incredible (especially mother Jenna lol). However, what was that frame? He didn't too all that bad but the frame was just not it. I'm sorry but it was just so awkward. I'm glad he had fun, though and it did suck to see him go.



Charity & Artem

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "My Girl" by the Temptations

Scores: 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score: 9

This was incredible. She is such a beautiful and elegant dancer and her performance quality is improving so much. I also loved the choreo and I feel like this dance should've gotten at least one nine.



Mira & Gleb

Dance: Rumba

Song: "Let's Get It On" by Marvin Gaye

Scores: 6, 6, 7, 7 = 26/40

My score: 6

I completely agree with Carrie Ann when she said that when Mira is in character, she is amazing but when she is out of character, she looks kind of awkward. With that being said, though, her legs are her lines are insane and she has really impressed me so far.



Ariana & Pasha

Dance: Quickstep

Song: "You Can't Hurry Love" by the Supremes

Scores: 9, 8, 9, 8 = 34/40

My score: 9

This was insanely good. The only thing that really bothered me was the gap between them when they were in hold. However, the choreo and everything else about it made up for it. This is easily my favorite dance of Pasha's.



Adrian & Britt

Dance: Quickstep

Song: "I Want You Back" by the Jackson 5

Scores: 5, 5, 6, 6 = 22/40

My score: 5.5

This was okay. I just felt like the song wasn't fit for a quickstep. Adrian's frame and footwork also needs a bit of work. The choreo was cute, though and they looked so good.



Harry & Rylee

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "Easy" by Commodores

Scores: 6, 5, 7, 6 = 24/40

My score: 6

I honestly think this was his best dance. Although, he still needs a lot of work. You can definitely see he's trying his best, though, and he really wants to be there. I also love watching him.



Xochitl & Val

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "My Guy" by Mary Wells

Scores: 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score: 9.5

This was so cute omg. Her frame was incredible and she is definitely a top contender this season. How this didn't get even one nine is beyondme. This is definitely my favorite foxtrot from Val and Xochitl is to watch.



Those are all of the dances from Motown night. Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Jason & Daniella's Jive

  2. Ariana & Pasha's Quickstep

  3. Lele & Brandon's Cha Cha

  4. Xochitl & Val's Foxtrot

  5. Charity & Artem's Foxtrot

  6. Barry & Peta's Tango

  7. Harry & Rylee's Foxtrot

  8. Mauricio & Emma's Foxtrot

  9. Mira & Gleb's Rumba

  10. Alyson & Sasha's Foxtrot

  11. Tyson & Jenna's Foxtrot

  12. Adrian & Britt's Quickstep



Next week is Disney100 night. Here are the dances for next week:

  1. Barry & Peta - Jazz to "He's a Tramp" from Lady and the Tramp

  2. Lele & Brandon - Rumba to "Can You Feel the Love Tonight" from the Lion King

  3. Mauricio & Emma - Paso Doble to "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" from Fantasia

  4. Jason & Daniella - Foxtrot to "A Whole New World" from Aladdin

  5. Alyson & Sasha - Jazz to "Be Our Guest" from Beauty and the Beast

  6. Charity & Artem - Viennese Waltz to "Part of Your World" from the Little Mermaid

  7. Mira & Gleb - Waltz to "A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes" from Cinderella

  8. Ariana & Pasha - Contemporary to "Into the Unknown" from Frozen II

  9. Adrian & Britt - Viennese Waltz to "Baby Mine" from Dumbo

  10. Harry & Rylee - Quickstep to "You've Got A Friend in Me" from Toy Story

  11. Xochitl & Val - Paso Doble to "Un Poco Loco" from Coco


So, that's it for this week's recap.

Until next time,

~Brianna.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page