top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Recap: Most Memorable Year Night

Hey guys! Happy Halloween and welcome to my DWTS recap for most memorable year night.

I am not going to waste any time, so let's just get into it.



Mira & Gleb

Most memorable year: 2004 (the year her daughter was born)

Dance: Contemporary

Song: "Time After Time" by Cyndi Lauper

Scores: 7, 8, 7 = 22/30

My score: 8

This was so cute and elegant. I also loved how her daughter was involved in the dance and I loved the ending. I just felt like it was a bit safe, but still really good.



Ariana & Pasha

Most memorable year: 2023 (the year she lost everything but gained even more)

Dance: Viennese Waltz

Song: "Happier Than Ever" by Billie Eilish

Scores: 8, 8, 8 = 24/30

My score: 8

First of all, Tom Sandoval sucks ass.

As for the dance, this was beautiful but it was a bit underwhelming for me. I thought it was going to be a bit better. There was a little stumble and it seemed a bit skippy to me. It was still good, though and I loved the choreo.



Charity & Artem

Most memorable year: 2022 (the year she learned to thrive after an emotionally abusive relationship)

Dance: Contemporary

Song: "Lose You to Love Me" by Selena Gomez

Scores: 10, 9, 9 = 28/30

My score: 9.5

The choreo went hard af. Her performance skills in this were so much better than previous weeks. She really got into the story of this dance. This was gorgeous.



Alyson & Sasha

Most memorable year: 2003 (the year she married her husband)

Dance: Viennese Waltz

Song: "Perfect" by Ed Sheeran

Scores: 7, 7, 7 = 21/30

My score: 7

This was nice but I feel like it took a bit too long to get into hold and some of the movements just didn't seem very fluid to me.



Harry & Rylee

Most memorable year: 2020 (the year that newfound fame nearly broke him)

Dance: Contemporary

Song: "Keep Your Head Up" by Andy Grammer

Scores: 6, 6, 6 = 18/30

My score: 6

This wasn't too bad and I really liked the choreo and the lifts but he still needs a lot of work.



Jason & Daniella

Most memorable year: 1999 (the year his musical dreams finally came true)

Dance: Quickstep

Song: "On the Road Again" by Willie Nelson

Scores: 9, 9, 9 = 27/30

My score: 9

First of all, they looked amazing. Secondly, I loved this dance and I feel like his frame has improved since last week.



Lele & Brandon

Most memorable year: 2020 (the year she met her husband)

Dance: Contemporary

Song: "I'll Stand by You" by the Pretenders

Scores: 8, 8, 8 = 24/30

My score: 8.5

This was by far her best dance. It had so much emotion and a beautiful story. However, her lines could be a little bit better but I can see she's really trying and she is improving every week which I love to see.



Xochitl & Val

Most memorable year: 2021 (the year she booked a Marvel movie but missed her Quinceanera)

Dance: Viennese Waltz

Song: "Until I Found You" by Stephen Sanchez

Scores: 9, 10, 9 = 28/30

My score: 9.5

This was stunning. The way she moves is gorgeous. Her arms and everything is just so pretty. I also loved the choreo. I did notice a little stumble, though but it wasn't anything too major and it was barely noticeable.



Mauricio & Emma

Most memorable year: 1996 (the year he was fired and broke with three kids)

Dance: Contemporary

Song: "Rise Up" by Andra Day

Scores: 8, 8, 8 = 24/30

My score: 8

This was his best dance, no question and I loved the choreo. He can be a bit more fluid but this was still fantastic and a major improvement.



Barry & Peta

Most memorable year: 1968 (the year before everything changed)

Dance: Paso Doble

Song: "Born to Be Wild" Steppenwolf

Scores: 8, 8, 8 = 24/30

My score: 8

Are you kidding me? He devoured that. He shaping was insane, the sharpness was everything, literally everything about it was insanely good. The choreo was amazing and it was jam packed full of Paso Doble content. This is literally my favorite paso doble ever if I'm being honest.



Those are all of the dances. Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Xochitl & Val's Viennese Waltz

  2. Jason & Daniella's Quickstep

  3. Lele & Brandon's Contemporary

  4. Mira & Gleb's Contemporary

  5. Ariana & Pasha's Viennese Waltz

  6. Charity & Artem's Contemporary

  7. Barry & Peta's Paso Doble

  8. Harry & Rylee's Contemporary

  9. Mauricio & Emma's Contemporary

  10. Alyson & Sasha's Viennese Waltz


Next week is Monster night (for Halloween, of course). Here are the dances for next week:

  1. Ariana & Pasha - Argentine Tango to "Bad Guy" by Billie Eilish

  2. Charity & Artem - Jive to "Skeleton Sam" by LVCRFT

  3. Alyson & Sasha - Paso Doble to "Supermassive Black Hole" by Muse

  4. Harry & Rylee - Argentine Tango to "Blinding Lights" by District 78

  5. Jason & Daniella - Contemporary to "Zombie" by the Cranberries

  6. Lele & Brandon - Paso Doble to "Bloody Mary (TikTok Remix)" by Lady Gaga

  7. Xochitl & Val - Contemporary to "Game of Survival" by Ruelle

  8. Mauricio & Emma - Argentine Tango to "Somebody's Watching Me" by Rockwell

  9. Barry & Peta - Viennese Waltz to "It's a Man's Man's Man's World" by James Brown

There will also be a monster-thon (dance marathon) where all couples will dance the Hustle and Charleston to "Stayin' Alive" by the Bee Gees and "Grim Grinning Ghosts" by Kris Bowers.




That's it for this week's recap.

Until next time,

~Brianna.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page