top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 32 Recap: Semifinals

Hey guys! Welcome to my recap for the DWTS semifinals. It's so crazy to think that tonight is the finale. I really don't want it to end.

Anyway, each couple learned two dances so I'm just going to jump into it.


Round 1:



Ariana & Pasha

Dance: Jive

Song: "Runaway Baby" by Bruno Mars

Scores: 9, 9, 10 = 28/30

My score: 9

I really liked this. They looked amazing and I loved the choreo. It was just a bit slow for me.



Jason & Daniella

Dance: Viennese Waltz

Song: "I Won't Give Up" by Jason Mraz

Scores: 9, 9, 9 = 27/30

My score: 9

This was absolutely stunning but I was a little bit underwhelmed. I was expecting a bit more, honestly. Dani ate with the choreo, though.



Xochitl & Val

Dance: Samba

Song: "Samba" by Gloria Estefan

Scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

The first time I watched this, I didn't think this deserved a perfect score. However, after rewatching it several times, I can see why it did get a perfect score. Here hips were amazing and I loved the bounce and the Samba is one of the hardest dances on this show and she killed it.



Charity & Artem

Dance: Rumba

Song: "Love the Way You Lie (Part III)" by Skylar Grey

Scores: 10, 9, 10 = 29/30

My score: 10

This was her best dance, in my opinion. It was so stunning and elegant. She ate, period.



Alyson & Sasha

Dance: Jive

Song: "Footloose" by Kenny Loggins

Scores: 9, 8, 8 = 25/30

My score: 7.5

I didn't hate it but some of it was a bit messy and some of the moves seemed a bit repetitive to me.



Round 2:



Jason & Daniella

Dance: Paso Doble

Song: "Diablo Rojo" by Rodrigo y Gabriela

Scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

This was amazing! The choreo was spectacular and he executed it perfectly. His shaping is one of the most impressive paso shaping I've ever seen.



Xochitl & Val

Dance: Waltz

Song: "La Vie en rose" by Lady Gaga

Scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

This was probably the best technical dance of the season. I'm just speechless. It was absolutely breathtaking.



Charity & Artem

Dance: Quickstep

Song: "Boss" by Fifth Harmony

Score: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 9.5

I'm not gonna lie, as good as this was, I feel like it's not as good as people are making it out to be. I do agree that it was one of her better dances but I feel like it shouldn't have gotten a perfect. I feel like it definitely deserved like two or three 10s but not a perfect score but that's just my opinion lol. I didn't hate it by any means. I just feel like it was a tiny bit overhyped.



Alyson & Sasha

Dance: Waltz

Song: "Come Away with Me" by Norah Jones

Scores: 8, 9, 9 = 26/30

My score: 9

This was definitely her best dance. It was so beautiful and so elegant. I loved it.



Ariana & Pasha

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "Trampoline" by Shaed & Zayn

Scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

This was a major ass slay. This was beautiful. I loved the choreo so much and I am so happy Pasha got his first perfect score with this dance. This is definitely one of my favorite Foxtrots of the season.



Those are all of the dances from the Semifinals. Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Xochitl & Val's Waltz

  2. Jason & Daniella's Paso Doble

  3. Charity & Artem's Rumba

  4. Ariana & Pasha's Foxtrot

  5. Xochitl & Val's Samba

  6. Jason & Daniella's Viennese Waltz

  7. Ariana & Pash'a Jive

  8. Charity & Artem's Quickstep

  9. Alyson & Sasha's Waltz

  10. Alyson & Sasha's Jive


Next week is the Finale. Each couple will do a redemption dance (a dance they've done before but could improve on) and a Freestyle. Here are the dances for next week:

Redemption round:

  1. Ariana & Pasha - Samba to "Spice Up Your Life" by the Spice Girls

  2. Jason & Daniella - Foxtrot to "Fly Me to the Moon" by Frank Sinatra

  3. Xochitl & Val - Foxtrot to "Unconditionally" by Katy Perry

  4. Charity & Artem - Tango to "Libertango" by Astor Piazzolla

  5. Alyson & Sasha - Salsa to "Get on Your Feet" by Gloria Estefan

Freetyle round:

  1. Ariana & Pasha - Freestyle to "Run the World (Girls)" by Beyonce/"Level Up" by Ciara

  2. Jason & Daniella - Freestyle to "Happy" by C2C feat. Derek MArtin

  3. Xochitl & Val - Freestyle to "Que Calor" by District 78

  4. Charity & Artem - Freestyle to "Sueltate" by Sam i & Jarina De Marco feat. Anita & BIA

  5. Alyson & Sasha - Freestyle to "Enchanted" by Taylor Swift/"Papi" by Jennifer Lopez



So, that's it for this week's DWTS recap.

Until next time,

~Brianna.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page