top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 32 Recap: Premiere

Hey guys! Welcome to the first DWTS recap of season 32. I am so excited.

Every week, I will post a blog recapping every dance of the night and giving my own scores for each one. I will also include my rankings based on personal enjoyment at the end of the blog and reveal next week's dances/songs.

So, let's get into it.



Xochitl & Val

Dance: Cha Cha

Song: "Peanut Butter Jelly" by Galantis

Scores: 6, 6, 6 = 18/30

My score: 6

I was expecting great things from her and she didn't disappoint. I love her energy and her smile. I also loved the choreo. Of course, this is week 1 so this wasn't perfect but she has so much potential and I can't wait to see more from her.



Barry & Peta

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "It's a Sunshine Day" by the Brady Bunch

Scores: 6, 5, 5 = 16/30

My score: 6

He seems so sweet and I'm really impressed by him. Obviously, he still needs a bit more work but this was a solid first dance. It was so cute and they looked great, too.



Tyson & Jenna

Dance: Cha Cha

Song: "Never Too Much" Luther Vandross

Scores: 4, 4, 4 = 12/30

My score: 5

Okay, so this wasn't too bad. However, I felt it was a bit flat-footed and he was also kind of off time. I see some potential, though and the moonwalk was kind of nice.

Check out their dance: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7rjIdkehdA


Alyson & Sasha

Dance: Salsa

Song: "Never Gonna Not Dance Again" by Pink

Scores: 5, 4, 4 = 13/30

My score: 5.5

This was good but I felt it was a bit too safe and I wish they used more of the stage. I also think she should've had more hip action. However, I loved her energy and her confidence and she seems so sweet.


Harry & Rylee

Dance: Cha Cha

Song: "Rock Your Body" by Justin Timberlake

Scores: 4, 4, 4 = 12/30

My score: 4

He wasn't the best but I lowkey love him. You can tell how much he wants to be there and wants to do well. I just feel like he needs to loosen up a bit and his footwork needs a bit of work but for someone who's never danced before, he didn't do too bad. Also, the fact that their dance is a current trend on TikTok is absolutely iconic.



Jason & Daniella

Dance: Cha Cha

Song: "I Feel Like Dancing" by Jason Mraz

Scores: 7, 7, 7 = 21/30

My score: 7.5

ARE YOU KIDDING ME????? The absolute best dance of the entire night. He was incredible and THOSE HIPS TOO? They ate that dance up and he is definitely the one to watch. They have a Rumba this week and I just know he is going to kill it.



Jamie Lynn & Alan

Dance: Tango

Song: "Don't Call Me Up (Zac Samuel Remix)" by Mabel

Scores: 5, 5, 5 = 15/30

My score: 5.5

This was pretty good. The dance just kind of felt a bit slow to me. She also needs to work on her footwork a bit but she has potential.



Adrian & Britt

Dance: Salsa

Song: "Yeah!" by Usher

Scores: 6, 6, 6 = 18/30

My score: 5. 5

First of all, they looked amazing. Secondly, the choreo and the lifts were everything.

He wasn't bad at all. I just wish he had more hip action but he has potential and I love his energy.



Lele & Brandon

Dance: Tango

Song: "El Tango de Roxanne" from Moulin Rouge

Scores: 6, 7, 6 = 19/30

My score: 7

They were so good and this was one of the best dances of the night. Of course, she needs a bit of work but like I said before, this is only week 1 and they're not gonna be perfect on the first week. Lele has so much potential and I really hope they make it far.



Mira Sorvino & Gleb

Dance: Cha Cha

Song: "Kiss" by Prince & the Revolution

Scores: 6, 5, 6 = 17/30

My score: 6

Okay, I was expecting her to be a bit stiff but man, this girl can move. Her LEGS????? Are you kidding me? I do feel like she could've loosened up a bit but she was definitely one of the biggest surprises of the night and I was not expecting her to do this well. I also loved the choreo.



Mauricio & Emma

Dance: Jive

Song: "I Ain't Worried" by OneRepublic

Scores: 5, 5, 5 = 15/30

My score: 5.5

He actually surprised me. I loved the fits. Of course, there is still some work to do but I can see him being great at latin.



Charity & Artem

Dance: Tango

Song: "Only Girl (in the World)" by Rihanna

Scores: 7, 7, 8 = 22/30

My score: 7

Of course, she ate! Her frame and technique was great and I loved how sharp it was. However, I feel like she was a little timid.



Matt & Koko

Dance: Cha Cha

Song: "Poison" by Bell Biv DeVoe

Scores: 4, 4, 4 = 12

My score: 6

First off, he did not deserve to go home and I feel like he was very underscored.

Now, onto the dance. I feel like while he did need some more work, he was better than some of the others. I also loved the fits and the choreo.



Ariana & Pasha

Dance: Tango

Song: "Love Myself (Riddler Remix)" by Hailee Steinfeld

Scores: 7, 7, 7 = 21/40

My score: 7.5

Ummmm....AMAZING! I was not expecting this from her. Her frame and footwork was incredible. The sharpness was insane. I can't say enough good things about this dance and the amount of times I went back and rewatched it is actually disgusting lol. She's gonna be one to watch, for sure.



Those are all of the dances from premiere night. Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Jason & Daniella's cha cha

  2. Ariana & Pasha's tango

  3. Charity & Artem's tango

  4. Lele & Brandon's tango

  5. Xochitl & Val's cha cha

  6. Jamie Lynn & Alan's tango

  7. Barry & Peta's foxtrot

  8. Harry & Rylee's cha cha

  9. Mira & Gleb's cha cha

  10. Adrian & Britt's salsa

  11. Mauricio & Emma's jive

  12. Matt & Koko's cha cha

  13. Tyson & Jenna's cha cha

  14. Alyson & Sasha's salsa


Here are all of the dances & songs for Latin night next week:

  1. Lele & Brandon - Samba to "Gasolina" by Daddy Yankee

  2. Tyson & Jenna - Salsa to "Aguanile" by Willie Colon & Hector Lavoe

  3. Barry & Peta - Cha Cha to "Oye Como Va" by Tito Puente

  4. Adrian & Britt - Samba to "Taki Taki" by DJ Snake, ft. Selena Gomez, Ozuna & Cardi B

  5. Mira & Gleb - Salsa to "Bailando" by Enrique Iglesias

  6. Xochitl & Val - Salsa to "Don't Go Yet" by Camila Cabello

  7. Ariana & Pasha - Samba to "Me Porto Bonito" by Bad Bunny & Chencho Corleone

  8. Mauricio & Emma - Salsa to "Quimbara" by Celia Cruz, Willie Colon, Johnny Pacheco Y Su Charanga

  9. Alyson & Sasha - Tango to "Can't Remember to Forget You" by Shakira ft. Rihanna

  10. Charity & Ezra - Cha Cha to "She Bangs" by Ricky Martin

  11. Harry & Rylee - Salsa to "Arranca" by Becky G ft. Omega

  12. Jamie Lynn & Alan - Cha Cha to "Shake Senora" by Pitbull ft. T-Pain and Sean Paul

  13. Jason & Daniella - Rumba to "Quizas, Quizas, Quizas" by Andrea Bocelli ft. Jennifer Lopez


So, that's it for the first DWTS recap of the year. As I mentioned before, next week is Latin night. Later this week, I will post my Fastlane predictions.

Until then,

~Brianna.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page