top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 32 Recap: Finale

Hey guys! Welcome to my final recap of season 32. It's so hard to believe that this season is already over. I'm going to miss it and I hate waiting a full year for another season. I hope they bring back Spring seasons.

Anyway, this week, each couple did a redemption dance (a dance they've already done before) and a freestyle.

So, let's get into the first round which is the redemption round.



Alyson & Sasha

Dance: Salsa

Song: "Get on Your Feet" by Gloria Estefan

Judges' scores: 9, 8, 8 = 25/30

My score: 8.5

Yes, this was better than her week 1 Salsa technically. I just liked her week 1 Salsa a bit better. She has improved tremendously since week 1, though.



Jason & Daniella

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "Fly Me to the Moon" by Frank Sinatra

Judges' scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

This was miles better than his first Foxtrot. His footwork was better (although, he didn't need to improve much with that, IMO) and his frame compared to his first Foxtrot has improved tremendously.



Ariana & Pasha

Dance: Samba

Song: "Spice Up Your Life" by Spice Girls

Judges' scores: 9, 10, 10 = 29/30

My score: 9

This wasn't bad by any means. It was strong for the first half but the second half just seemed kind of awkward to me.



Charity & Artem

Dance: Tango

Song: "Libertango" by Astor Piazzolla

Judges' scores: 9, 10, 10 = 29/30

My score: 10

This was a massive improvement from her week 1 Tango. Her frame was good and her footwork was 10x better. The ending also had me shook.



Xochitl & Val

Dance: Foxtrot

Song: "Unconditionally" by Katy Perry

Judges' scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

This was stunning and Xochitl looked gorgeous. The only thing that kind of bothered me was the missed hand placement but that was only minor.


Next is the Freestyle round.



Alyson & Sasha

Song: "Enchanted" by Taylor Swift/"Papi" by Jennifer Lopez

Judges' scores: 9, 9, 10 = 9, 9, 10

My score: 10

Okay, I didn't hate it at all. However, I didn't like how half of it was so soft and elegant and the other half was latin and super fast. It was fun but it was also kind of chaotic for me. If it was all ballroom, I probably would've loved it a bit more.



Jason & Daniella

Song: "Happy" by C2C feat. Derek Martin

Judges' scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

This was next level insane. There was so much content and it was jam packed. Queen Dani just never misses.



Ariana & Pasha

Song: "Run the World (Girls)" by Beyonce/"Level Up" by Ciara

Judges' scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

Unpopular opinion: this might just be one of my favorite Freestyles of all time. It was spicy and Ariana showed us that she is THAT girl. This is Pasha's first Freestyle and it was phenomenal. Also, the side by side part was everything.



Charity & Artem

Song: "Lose My Breath" by Destiny's Child/"Sueltate" by Sam i & Jarina De Marco feat. Anitta & BIA

Judges' scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

I've seen so much hate about this dance and its actually annoying at this point. I've seen multiple people say "this is dancing. Not cheerleading". They're right. However, this is also a Freestyle and if you watch the show, you would know that Freestyles require NO RULES. So, if they want some cheerleading involved, they can do that. If they want lifts, they can do that, too. There are no rules. It's just a dance showcasing them and what they want to do.

Anyways, I loved it and the lifts were everything.



Xochitl & Val

Song: "Que Calor" by District 78

Judges' scores: 10, 10, 10 = 30/30

My score: 10

I loved this and I liked it a lot more after rewatching it. However, I wouldn't say this is my favorite Freestyle from Val (Laurie's is my favorite tbh). I did love it, though and I had the time of my life watching it.


Those are all of the dances from the finale. Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Ariana & Pasha's Freestyle

  2. Jason & Daniella's Freestyle

  3. Charity & Artem's Freestyle

  4. Xochitl & Val's Freestyle

  5. Jason & Daniella's Foxtrot

  6. Xochitl & Val's Foxtrot

  7. Charity & Artem's Tango

  8. Ariana & Pasha's Samba

  9. Alyson & Sasha's Freestyle

  10. Alyson & Sasha's Salsa


Here are the final results:

Fifth place - Alyson & Sasha

Fourth place - Charity & Artem

Third place - Ariana & Pasha

Runners-up - Jason & Daniella

Winners - Xochitl & Val


That's it for my final recap of the year. I'm going to miss doing these every week.

Until next time,

~Brianna.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page