top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 31, Premiere Recap

Hey guys! Welcome to another blog post.

Today, I'm doing my first DWTS recap of the year. I will be doing a recap every week until the show ends in November. I will also post a second regular blog post a different day during each week.

In each recap, I will talk about each dance and the score I would give each performance. At the end of each recap, I will show my rankings based on personal enjoyment. I will also be linking each performance.

So, let's get into it.



Jordin & Brandon

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)" by Whitney Houston

Judges' scores - 7, 6, 6, 7 = 26/40

My score - 7

They ate this up. I was expecting Jordin to be incredible and she didn't disappoint. She seemed like she was having fun and I love that. She needs to work on her footwork a bit but it was a solid performance and a great way to start the season.



Sam & Cheryl

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "Hold Me Closer" by Elton John & Britney Spears

Judges' scores - 5, 5, 5, 5 = 20/40

My score - 5.5

This was a very cute dance and they looked amazing. However, I felt that Sam's footwork was pretty flat at times and a bit "stompy" but it was still fun to watch.



Heidi & Artem

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Lady Marmalade" by Christina Aguilera, Lil' Kim, Mya, & Pink

Judges' scores - 6, 6, 6, 6 = 24/40

My score - 6

This was so good. Her technique and footwork was great. She was a bit timid and nervous, though and I felt she was a bit stiff at times but still amazing.



Daniel & Britt

Dance - Tango

Song - "Barbra Streisand" by Duck Sauce

Judges' scores - 7, 6, 7, 7 = 27/40

My score - 7

His frame was great and his footwork was great, too. I felt like he was kinda floppy at times but it was still a solid performance and I can't wait to see more from them.



Jessie & Alan

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Sweet Home Alabama" by Lynyrd Skynyrd

Judges' scores - 5, 5, 5, 5 = 20/40

My score - 5.5

They looked great but I feel like her footwork was a bit "stompy" at times and I felt like she was kinda like running through the dance but she still wasn't that bad. I do think all 5s were a bit too harsh, though. I feel like she should've gotten at least one 6.



Teresa & Pasha

Dance - Tango

Song - "We Found Love" by Rihanna & Calvin Harris

Judges' scores - 5, 5, 5, 5 = 20/40

My score - 5

She has potential but she needed way more attack, technique, etc. and she needs to work on her frame a bit more too.



Wayne & Witney

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "She's a Bad Mama Jama (She's Built, She's Jacked)" by Carl Carlton

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 8 = 29/40

My score - 8

If anyone is going to devour a cha cha, it is Witney Carson. The girl just does not miss. One of the best dances of the night and definitely finale vibes. He was kinda wonky with the footwork at times but ouuuu, they ate and left no crumbs.



Cheryl & Louis

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Got to Give It Up" by Marvin Gaye

Judges' scores - 6, 5, 5, 5 = 21

My score - 6

This was a really nice dance. Her legs were very straight and she had great lines. However, this routine felt a bit safe and simple.



Vinny & Koko

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Tití Me Preguntó" by Bad Bunny

Judges' scores - 4, 4, 5, 4 = 17/40

My score - 5

Loved the choreo but he was very stiff, not a lot of hip movements and he was a bit rough, too. I hope he does better next week because I love them and their partnership. I also think that the 4s were a bit too harsh.



Shangela & Gleb

Dance - Salsa

Song - "When I Grow Up" by The Pussycat Dolls

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 7 = 28/40

My score - 8

Ouuu halleloo, they ate that up. I aslo expected a lot from her and she didn't disappoint. I'm also obsessed with the costumes and the choreo was incredible.



Trevor & Emma

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Dancing with Myself" Billy Idol

Judges' scores - 5, 5, 5, 6 = 21/40

My score - 6

I loved this! However, I feel like his frame was a bit floppy at times and his footwork seemed a bit flat but it was still fun to watch and he really impressed me.



Gabby & Val

Dance - Jive

Song - "As It Was" by Harry Styles

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 7 = 28/40

My score - 7

She really surprised me! Some of her kicks could've been a little more sharper but overall an amazing performance and I absolutely loved it.



Joseph & Daniella

Dance - Jive

Song - "Pump It" by Black Eyed Peas

Judges' scores - 6, 5, 6, 6 = 23/40

My score - 6

Dani killed it with the choreo as per usual. His kicks and flicks were, unfortunately, not that great but he does have tons of potential and his arm placement was really nice.



Jason & Peta

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Get Lucky" by Daft Punk, Pharrell Williams, & Nile Rodgers

Judges' scores - 5, 4, 4, 5 = 18/40

My score - 5

Lots of heel leads and it looked kinda rough at times but he looked like he was having fun, so that's nice.



Selma & Sasha

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "The Time of My Life" by David Cook

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 7 = 28/40

My score - 7

Oh my goodness! This was stunning. I knew she was gonna surprise a lot of people and she didn't disappoint. I adore her and I can't wait to see more from her.



Charli & Mark

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Savage (Major Lazer Remix)" by Megan Thee Stallion

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8.5

I have literally watched this dance 10,000 times already and I just can't get enough. This was phenomenal and the choreo was just insane. This was perfect and I can't say anything bad about this dance. It's also so good to see Mark back.


Those are all of the dances. They also had an elimination this week and Jason & Peta were eliminated.

Now, I will show my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Charli & Mark's cha cha

  2. Wayne & Witney's cha cha

  3. Selma & Sasha's viennese waltz

  4. Gabby & Val's jive

  5. Shangela & Gleb's salsa

  6. Jordin & Brandon's cha cha

  7. Trevor & Emma's quickstep

  8. Daniel & Britt's tango

  9. Heidi & Artem's cha cha

  10. Cheryl & Louis' cha cha

  11. Sam & Cheryl's foxtrot

  12. Jessie & Alan's cha cha

  13. Joseph & Daniella's jive

  14. Vinny & Koko's salsa

  15. Jason & Peta's cha cha

  16. Teresa & Pasha's tango


So, that's it for this week's DWTS recap. Tomorrow night is Elvis night and I'm so excited.

Until next time,

~Brianna.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page