top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 2020, The Finals

Hey guys!

Welcome to the final DWTS recap of this year.

I was gonna post this on Monday but I was pretty busy all week.

This season is probably one of my favorite seasons of all time for tons of reasons.

I'm pretty happy with the winner however, there is one couple that I wanted to win instead of the couple that actually won but I'm still so happy for the couple that did win. I will talk more about that at the end of the blog post.

So, let's get started with the first round which are repeat dances.




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Repeat dance - argentine tango (week 9)

Song - "toxic" by Britney Spears

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Kaitlyn and Artem’s Argentine Tango is probably my favorite dance of theirs all season, so I’m glad that this was the performance they decided to repeat. Just like the first time, this dance was so clean and sharp. Carrie Ann said that this performance is one of her favorite dances of all time on this show, and although I don’t think I would make that bold of a statement, I would definitely say that this was one of the best dances of season 29.




Nelly and Daniella Karagach

Repeat dance - samba (week 5)

Song - "Rhythm of the night" by DeBarge

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score - 9


It was quite the risk choosing such a difficult dance to repeat, but I think Nelly and Daniella were going for a dance that they found the most fun. And if that is the case, I think they chose the right performance! This second Samba dropped a bit of the 80’s urban feel of the original performance, but I think the simple outfits and theme this time around were more fitting of Nelly’s personality. Granted, this dance had it’s mistakes—Nelly’s arms were often thrown away and some of the footwork was a bit sloppy. But at the end of the day, I can’t help but to love this couple, mistakes and all!




Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Repeat dance - paso doble (week 7)

Song - "swan lake remix" by District 78

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


This is another performance that I would consider to be one of my favorites from the season. Nev and Jenna’s Paso Doble was just so incaptivating and fierce that I have no choice but to love it, The level of artistry and emotion that came out of this dance was amplified the second time around.




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Repeat dance - cha cha (week 1)

Song - "respect" by Aretha Franklin

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


This cha cha was a hit yet again, refining all the things that she had to improve on from week one. Work it, Justina!




Now, onto the freestyles:




Nelly & Daniella Karagach

Dance - freestyle

Song - "savage" by Megan Thee Stallion / "hypnotize" by the Notorious B.I.G

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


This freestyle was classy and fun and it was definitely their most memorable dance of the season.




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Dance - freestyle

Song - "sparkling diamonds" by Nicole Kidman

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


"Sparkling Diamonds” is a great, quirky song to use for a classical-feeling Freestyle, and I think it was a pretty fitting song for the always classy Kaitlyn Bristowe. There were lots of fun tempo changes and moments of dramatic flair that gave this dance some unique character. I’ve said in the past that sometimes I wished that Kaitlyn’s dancing excited me more, but this finale proved to me that she when she is in her elements, she shines bright.




Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Dance - freestyle

Song - "Singin' in the rain" by District 78

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Nothing beats a classic dance reference like a Gene Kelly one! Nev and Jenna’s Freestyle was a dynamic and feel-good performance. It felt sweet, but it also felt intense. It felt fresh, but it also felt nostalgic. There was a lot to like about this performance.




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Dance - freestyle

Song - "let's get loud" by Jennifer Lopez / "bamboleo" by Gipsy Kings

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Justina and Sasha never disappoint, and this performance was no exception! This Freestyle felt like a love letter to the nature of Latin dancing, and I was glad to witness it. Justina was an absolute boss in every aspect of this routine, proving that she has been the queen of the ballroom this season! It is such a shame that this was the last dance we got to see from this couple. I want them to come back for an all stars season!




Results:

4th place - Justina & Sasha

3rd place - Nelly & Daniella

2nd place - Nev & Jenna

Winners - Kaitlyn & Artem


So, that's it for today's blog post.

Come back tomorrow for my weekly blog post,

~Brianna.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page