top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

Black Lives Matter

Hey guys!

Welcome back to another blog post.

I wasn't going to post this week because if you saw my instagram, you would know that I posted a black photo on Tuesday with the #Blackouttuesday. I also mentioned that I wouldn't post my regular photos on Instagram all week, only if it's related to the Black lives matter movement. So, I wasn't going to post a blog this week either. However, I thought that I should make a blog post telling you guys ways to help.

Before, I get started, I wanted to tell you guys why I didnt post last week and that is because I was busy all week (of course). I was supposed to graduate last week, so, of course I was busy.

Anyway, in this blog post, you will find different things you can donate to, petitions to sign, and many other ways to help the BLM movement.


So, I know it's late but if you still want to participate in the blackout, go right ahead.

However, I do suggest that you don't use the #blacklivesmatter in the post as it will spam the tag with black photos with no information about the movement.

I also suggest that you keep posting information about the BLM and ways to help. Don't go silent.


Places to donate:

~George Floyd Memorial fund - gofundme.com/f/georgefloyd

~Minnesota freedom fund - minnesotafreedomfund.org

~Black visions collective - blackvisionsmn.org

~Reclaim the block - reclaimtheblock.org

~Campaign Zero - joincampaignzero.org

~Unicorn Riot - unicornriot.ninja

~Act blue community bail funds - secure.actblue.com/donate/bailfunds

~The loveland foundation - thelovelandfoundation.org

~Communities United Against Police Brutality - cuapb.org

~Black lives matter - blacklivesmatter.com


How to donate when you have no money? A black woman named Zoe Amira posted a video on youtube. The video is an hour long and it's filled with art and music from black creators. It has a ton of ads, and in result will rack up tons of revenue. 100% of the ad revenue from video will be dispersed between various BLM organizations, including bail-out funds for protesters.


Resources to read:

~"I'm still here: black dignity in a world made for whiteness" by Austin Channing Brown

~"How to be an antiracist" by Ibram X. Kendi

~"The fire next time" by James Baldwin

~"The new Jim Crown: mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness" by Michelle Alexander

~"White rage: the unspoken truth of our racial divide" by Carol Anderson

~"White fragility" by Robin DiAngelo

~"Me and White Supremacy" by Layla F. Saad

~"Women, Race, & Class" by Angela Y Davis

~"So You Want to Talk About Race" by Ijeoma Oluo

~"Six Ways Asia-Americans Can Tackle Anti-Blackness in Their Families" by Kim Tran

~"Black Feminist Thought" by Patricia Hill Collins

~"Heavy: An American Memoir" by Kiese Laymon

~"I know why the Caged Bird Sings" by Maya Angelou

~"Bloved" by Toni Morrison

~"Why I'm No Longer Talking Talking To White People About Race" by Reni Eddo-Lodge

~"The Color of Law" by Richard Rothstein


Petitions to sign:


Email/Text


Call:

~Governor Tim Walz - 612-201-3400

~Minneapolis PD - 612-673-3000

~Mayor Jacob Frey - 612-673-2100

~MPD of Int'l Affairs - 612-673-3074

~Mike Freeman - 612-348-3550

~Minneapolis Dept of Civil Rights - 612-348-3550

~Police Chief Arendondo - 612-673-3550

~Sheriff Dave Hutch - 612-348-374

If you don't know what to say, visit:



Listen:

~NPR Code Switch

~The Nod

~1619

~Dying of Whiteness during the Coronavirus Epidemic

~The Case for Reparations from Ta-Nehisi Coates

~Speak Out

~Seeing White

~The Stakes

~Revisionist History

~State vs Johnson

~Mr. Hollowell didn't like that

~The United States of Anxiety

~The Heart: Race Traitor Series

~Reveal

~Come Through with Rebecca Caroll

~Pod Save the People

~There Goes The Neighbourhood

~Uncivil

~Caught

~Retropod: The US Government Recruited Black Men To Watch Them Die

~The Daily: Why is The Pandemic Killing So Many Black Americans?


Things to watch:

~13th

~When They See Us

~Miss Evers' Boys

~A People's History of the United States

~Rosewood

~Pushout: The Criminalization of Black Girls in Schools

~The Lena Baker Story

~Home Truth (The Jessica Gonzalez Story)

~Mudbound

~Fruitvale Station

~The Hate U Give

~American Son

~Just Mercy

~Let It Fall

~Black Venus

~The Black Power Mixtape

~I Am Not Your Negro

~Hidden Figures

~Selma

~The Color Purple


Questions to ask yourself:

  1. Who taught you about race and culture?

  2. What are you committed to doing outside of social media to end racial discrimination and systematic oppression?

  3. How do you behave when you're confronted by racist behaviour?

  4. What do you want to learn more about?

  5. What information could you teach people?

  6. Why is it important for eeryone to work towards ending this injustice?


Take action:

~Check in on black friends, family, etc.

~Educate yourself

~Be an advocate for mental health

~Read the news and pay attention to social media


Obviously, there are tons of ways you can help and honestly, there's so much more ways you can help than what I've included in the blog post. You can find more ways on my Instagram story highlights titled "BLM."


~I understand that I will never understand. However, I stand~




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page