top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 30, Disney Night

Hey guys! Welcome to my Disney night recap of DWTS. This week, the show was on for 2 nights (Monday & Tuesday). So, let's get into it.


Night one:



Jojo & Jenna

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "A Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes" by Ilene Woods

Scores - 9, 8, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 9

This dance was so elegant. I loved it. Jojo's frame was so beautiful and she leads Jenna so well. She also has such beautiful lines. This was probably their best dance so far and it was so magical.



Melanie C & Gleb

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Step in Time" by Dick Van Dyke

Scores - 7, 8, 8, 8 = 31/40

My score - 8

This dance was full of content, energy, and entertainment. However, parts of it was a bit messy and she was ahead of the music a bit. If the dance was performed a bit more cleanly and was perfected just a bit more, it would have been a phenomenal routine. It was still enjoyable but there were a few noticeable errors.



Matt & Lindsay

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "The Incredits" by Michael Giacchino

Scores - 6, 6, 7, 7 = 26/40

My score - 7

I loved watching this dance. Matt still has a few technical things to work out. They lacked body contact in hold at times and his footwork could be better but still very entertaining.



Jimmie & Emma

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "I'll Make a Man Out of You" by Donny Osmond

Scores - 8, 7, 8, 7 + 2 = 32/40

My score - 8

I loved this dance and Emma killed it with the concept for the Mickey dance challenge. Jimmie hit the paso technique very well and I was quite impressed.



Amanda & Alan

Dance - Rumba

Song - "You'll Be in My Heart" by Phil Collins

Scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8

This dance was stunning. It was so fluid and Amanda has such beautiful lines. However, there was one little noticeable mistake but besides that, the dance was incredible.



Olivia & Val

Dance - Samba

Song - "I Just Can't Wait to Be King" by Jason Weaver, Rowan Atkinson, & Laura Williams

Scores - 8, 9, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 9

This dance was amazing and Olivia killed the samba technique. This was so full of content and Olivia nailed it all. It was very fun and entertaining to watch and these two just keep impressing me more and more every single week.



The Miz & Witney

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Friend Like Me"by Will Smith

Scores - 8, 7, 8, 8 = 31/40

My score - 8

This was so entertaining and the Miz killed it as a genie. This was so full of energy and the Miz hit every step. I still think his frame could improve just a little more and they could've had a bit more body contact in hold but still incredibly entertaining.



Kenya & Brandon

Dance - Contemporary

Song - "How Far I'll Go" by Auli'i Cravalho

Scores - 7, 7, 8, 7 = 29/40

My score - 8

This dance was great. Kenya moves quite elegantly which was good for this dance. I also loved Brandon's choreography. I do think some of the steps could've been a bit smoother but still an amazing performance.



Brian & Sharna

Dance - Waltz

Song - "Someday My Prince Will Come" by Ray Chew

Scores - 6, 6, 7, 6 = 25/40

My score - 7

This dance was charming and Brian did have a very solid frame. I just kinda wanted more from them.



Suni & Sasha

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Colombia, Mi Encanto" by Carlos Vives

Scores - 8, 8, 9, 8 = 33/40

My score - 9

This dance was jam packed full of fun salsa content and Suni didn't miss a beat. I still think she could loosen up a bit more but still a solid routine that was so fun to watch.



Melora & Artem

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "I Wan'na Be Like You" by Christopher Walken

Scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 9

This dance was so fast and full of content. I'm very impressed with how well Melora moves across the dance floor. She never missed a step and the choreography was incredible.



Cody & Cheryl

Dance - Jive

Song - "Stand Out" by Tevin Campbell

Scores - 7, 6, 7, 7 = 27/40

My score - 7

It was so nice seeing these two back in the ballroom again. Cody killed his solo piece in the beginning and this dance was jam packed full of energy. I do think Cody's jive technique could've been a little bit better but it was still fun to watch and very energetic.



Iman & Daniella

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "Let It Go" by Idina Menzel

Scores - 8, 6, 8, 8 = 30/40

My score - 7

This dance was stunning. I loved the choreography and Daniella was the perfect Elsa. I do think Iman looked a bit awkward in frame at times but he still moved across the dance floor very smoothly.



Night 2:



Jimmie & Emma

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Bad Guy" by Billie Eilish

Scores - 9, 8, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 9

This dance was incredible & Emma's choreography was amazing! Jimmie nailed every single step and the lifts were also very clean.



Cody & Cheryl

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Gaston" by Jesse Corti & Richard White

Scores - 8, 7, 8, 8 = 31/40

My score - 8

This dance was very entertaining to watch. I think his frame could improve at bit, though.



Melanie C & Gleb

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Once Upon a Dream" by Lana Del Rey

Scores - 9, 8, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 9

This performance was so haunting and elegant at the same time. I love the vibes and Mel danced so beautifully. She has excellent frame and her lines were gorgeous.



Jojo & Jenna

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Ways to Be Wicked" by Dove Cameron, Sofia Carson, Cameron Boyce, & Booboo Stewart

Scores - 8, 9, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 10

This paso doble was fire. Jojo absolutely nailed the paso technique and this was jam packed full of content. Jojo didn't miss a beat and it was super entertaining to watch.



Kenya & Brandon

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Dangerous Woman" by Ariana Grande

Scores - 7, 7, 8, 8 = 30/40

My score - 8

It was great to see Kenya get in character and kill this dance. She has very pretty lines and this was more cleanly performed than some of her other dances. I still noticed a couple glitches here and there but still a very solid performance.



Iman & Daniella

Dance - Argentine Tango

Song - "Arabian Nights" by Bruce Alder

Scores - 9, 7, 9, 8 = 33/40

My score - 9

Wow! This was a masterpiece! The concept was amazing and Iman pulled off insanely difficult tricks with such ease. He also killed the argentine tango technique and footwork really well.



Melora & Artem

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Mother Knows Best" by Melora Hardin

Scores - 9, 10, 9, 9 = 37/40

My score - 9

This was insanely good and Melora killed the character. I would've liked to see a bit more pizzazz though but it was still incredibly entertaining and I loved it!



The Miz & Witney

Dance - Argentine Tango

Song - "Be Prepared" by Chiwetel Ejofor

Scores - 9, 8, 9, 8 = 34/40

My score - 9

I'm obsessed with this dance. The Miz handled the argentine tango technique very well and there were a lot of nice footwork sections. There were also some very impressive lifts.



Brian & Sharna

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "He's a Pirate" by Klaus Badelt & Hans Zimmer

Scores - 7, 6, 7, 7 = 27/40

My score - 7

This paso was fun to watch and they both looked amazing. I think there could've been more content and some of it felt a bit underwhelming to me.



Matt & Lindsay

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Jungle" by X Ambassadors & Jamie N Commons

Scores - 8, 7, 8, 8 = 31/40

My score - 8

I did not expect these two to leave the competition this early. I loved how much they attacked this dance and Matt definitely went out with a bang.



Olivia & Val

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Remember Me" by Benjamin Bratt

Scores - 8, 9, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 8

This was a super fun dance. I do feel, though, that this was a bit safe and they could've blown me away a bit more but it was still full of content and Olivia hit every move. I'm also constantly impressed with how well she can perform with no dance experience.



Suni & Sasha

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "I Put a Spell on You" by Annie Lennox

Scores - 9, 8, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 9

I loved Sasha's choreography in this dance. I also loved Suni's lines and she was great in hold. They both move across the floor very smoothly and it's so satisfying to watch.



Amanda & Alan

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Call Me Cruella" by Florence and the Machine

Scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 9

This was incredible! Amanda killed it as Cruella and I loved Alan's choreography. Everything was so sharp, crisp, and clean throughout. This was full of content and it was an amazing way to end disney week.



So, that's my DWTS recap for this week. My next blog will be dropping either sometime tonight or tomorrow so, until then,

~Brianna.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page