top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 29, Week 8

Hey guys!

Welcome back to another blog post.

Today, I'm obviously doing my weekly DWTS recap for last Monday which was week 8.



Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Dance - jive

Song - "don't stop me now" by Queen

Scores - 8,9,8 = 25/30

My score - 9


This Jive was just full of great content, awesome execution, and fun little accents thrown in here and there. I do agree with Derek and Bruno, though, that the dance could have used some more attack. At times, Kaitlyn seems to get slightly frozen in her facial expressions, which I assume is from her concentrating on the choreography. One thing I don’t agree with is Carrie Ann insisting that Kaitlyn’s back tuck was a lift. To me, that’s an assist. But the way I see it, it seems like Carrie Ann is very inconsistent when she calls out lifts. . . and sometimes when she does call out a lift, it’s actually not a lift at all.




Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Dance - viennese waltz

Song - "stuck with u" by Ariana Grande & Justin Bieber

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score - 9


Once again, Nev and Jenna had another technically great routine. No surprise there. Nev has a talent for matching his motion perfectly with the tone of the music, which puts him on a level above most other contestants on the show. However, Nev’s posture wasn’t exactly how it was supposed to be. He was hunched forward on top, but his butt was sticking out below.




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Dance - samba

Song - "magalenha" by Sergio Mendes feat. Carlinhos Brown

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score - 9.5


This dance was so good! The only thing about it, though, is some of Justina's arm movements weren't completed but other than that, this was phenomenal and it should have gotten at least one ten.




Nelly & Daniella Karagach

Dance - rumba

Song - "nobody knows" by the tony rich project

Scores - 7,7,7 = 21/30

My score - 7


As much as I love that he poured his heart and soul into his Rumba this week, it unfortunately fell flat. While he had some nice fluidity going on in his torso, his way of moving just wasn’t very dynamic. And his head didn’t seem to be fully in the game this week.




Chrishell Stause & Gleb Savchenko

Dance - viennese waltz

Song - "love on the brain" by rihanna

Scores - 8,8,8 = 24/30

My score - 8


Honestly, I just found the entire concept of this dance to be very predictable. We have seen Chrishell and Gleb do sexy dancing so much this season. And the use of a bed as a prop felt very much like Jana Kramer and Gleb’s Argentine Tango from season 23, so all in all it just felt very uninspired. These two had great passion, though, and I would say that Chrishell was better in hold with this dance than any of her other ballroom dances.




Skai Jackson & Alan Bersten

Dance - salsa

Song - "work it" by missy elliot

Scores - 8,9,8 = 25/30

My score - 9


Skai and Alan’s Salsa was certainly fun, even though, as Derek pointed out, it might’ve had just a couple too many lifts that distracted from the rest of the Latin content. And I wish there was some more Latin content because Skai is really strong in the legwork department.




Johnny Weir & Britt Stewart

Dance - foxtrot

Song - "wonder" by shawn mendes

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score - 9


This was a subtle but pleasant Foxtrot that they performed this week, and once again Johnny really grasped the lyricism of the music. There was just one minor problem that stood out to me: the dance would go back and forth between being smooth and jolty. And I think that is because, as Derek pointed out, the rise-and-fall was choppy.




Aj Mclean & Cheryl Burke

Dance - rumba

Song - "way down we go" KALEO

Scores - 8,8,8 = 24/30

My score - 8


I really felt the emotion translate into his Rumba this week, but as much as I hate to say it, the choreography was just way too dramatic for me. I did like all the energy that AJ exhibited in this routine, but his technique was not refined enough.




Now onto the relay dances:



Cha cha relay

Couples: Nev & Jenna, Chrishell & Gleb, Nelly & Daniella

Judged by Carrie Ann Inaba

Song: "rain on me" by lady gaga

Results: Nev & Jenna (+3 points), Chrishell & Gleb (+2 points), Nelly & Daniella (+2 points)

My scores: Nev & Jenna (+3 points), Chrishell & Gleb(+! point), Nelly & Daniella (+2 points)


I think the clear winners of the Cha-Cha Relay were Nev and Jenna. They had cleaner footwork and more energy than the other two couples. Although, one thing I did notice about this performance was that Nev looked a bit like a deer in headlights, which isn’t usual for him. As for Chrishell and Gleb, I was glad to see all the great content that Gleb put into it. Unfortunately, though, there were a lot of obvious mistakes and sloppy footwork. And finally, I think Nelly and Daniella really got into their dance, but it just felt like Nelly was holding back a bit.




Viennese waltz relay

Couples: Justina & Sasha, Johnny & Britt

Judged by Derek Hough

Song: "i have nothing" by whitney houston

Results: Justina & Sasha (+2 points), Johnny & Britt (+3 points)

My scores: Justina & Sasha (+3 points), Johnny & Britt (+3 points)


Justina and Sasha had a nice, delicate performance and the technique was on point. And as far as Johnny and Britt go, I thought it had a lot of grace, despite a few awkward moments.




Samba relay

Couples - Aj & Cheryl, Kaitlyn & Artem, Skai & Alan

Judged by Bruno Tonioli

Song - "levitating" by dua lipa

Results - Aj & Cheryl (+3 points), Kaitlyn & Artem (+3 points), Skai & Alan (+2 points) My scores - Aj & Cheryl (+3 points), Kaitlyn & Artem (+2 points), Skai & Alan (+2 points)


Honestly, I thought all of the couples did great this round. AJ and Cheryl were fun and groovy with their Samba content, which was nice to see. As for Kaitlyn & Artem, their dance was just a tad awkward here and there. And finally, Skai and Alan had great youthful energy, although Skai had that deer-in-headlights look going on.




So, that's it for today's blog post.

As of now, I don't have an idea for my next blog post this week so, I'll probably just do another blog like my last one.

~Brianna.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page