top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 29, Week 3

Hey guys!

Welcome to another blog post

Today, I'm obviously gonna do my recap of DWTS week 3 which was disney night so, let's just get into it.



Skai Jackson & Alan

Dance - jive

Song - "Almost There" from the princess and the frog

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 7


I feel for Skai. She really gives it her all week after week yet she has been heavily underscored two weeks in a row now. And after last week’s slip up, it seems like she can’t shake off some of her nerves. She looked frazzled throughout this routine, which I think affected her performance. Some of her lines came off as a bit calculated and it felt like her feet were beneath her. She had great pep for the Jive, though.




Monica Aldama & Val

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Part Of Your World" from The Little Mermaid

Scores - 7,7,7 = 21/30

My score - 7


I have loved watching Monica’s ballroom dances this season. She has beautiful lines and grace that suited this Viennese Waltz really well. She needs to work on her pacing, though. But this dance was stunning.




Justina Machado & Sasha

Dance - charleston

Song - "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious" from Mary Poppins

Scores - 7,6,6 = 19/30

My score - 6


This was not Justina and Sasha’s best dance, but it was full of charm and personality. As Carrie Ann pointed out, I wish that there was more to the dance itself. We missed out on some swivel and bounce, which are elements that make the Charleston look high-energy.She had enough pizazz to make this dance fun, but I have seen better technique from her.




Aj McLean & Cheryl

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Prince Ali" from Aladdin

Scores - 7,7,7 = 21/30

My score - 7


This dance was great! I just think Aj needs to stabilize his frame a little more.




Anne Heche & Keo

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Zero To Hero" from Hercules

Scores - 5,5,5 = 15/30

My score - 5


Anne’s Quickstep started out pretty strong with some solid stability, but as the dance went on, things started to fall apart a bit. I wish Keo would have left out some of the choreography that was out of hold because once Anne got out of hold, she lost her footing quite a bit. I’m still enjoying this couple, though, not only because of Anne’s dedication to dancing, but because of the fun relationship Anne and Keo have with each other.




Jeannie Mai & Brandon

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Married Life" from Up

Scores - 7,7,8 = 22/30

My score - 7


This dancing was amazing. However, I do think that Jeannie needs to work on her fluidity for other ballroom dances.




Nelly & Daniella

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "It's All Right" from Soul

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18

My score - 5.5


Nelly really has to work on getting into his performances more. He still seems shy on the dance floor, which is kind of holding him back a little bit. Nelly was smooth and lyrical in this performance, but his technique still has a long way to go. His turns were not fully executed, his feet were choppy, and his shoulders were pretty stiff. I think we’ll be seeing more of Nelly in coming weeks, though, because of his fan base, so hopefully he will have time to improve.




Carole Baskin & Pasha

Dance - Samba

Song - "Circle Of Life" from The Lion King

Scores - 5,4,3 = 12/30

My score - 4


I’ll give Carole credit for the fact that the Samba is arguably the most difficult Latin dance on the show, but this performance was just so still. There was practically no hip action, very little expression other than a frozen smile, and a Samba roll that was so poorly executed that it was almost unrecognizable. I appreciate Carole’s participation in the show despite highly negative press against her, though and I actually was hoping she'd stay in the competition a little longer but when I found out that she was in the bottom two along with Anne & Keo, I knew for a fact that judges were going to send Carole & Pasha home.




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem

Dance - Rumba

Song - "How Far I'll Go" from Moana

Scores - 8,7,8 = 23/20

My score - 8


Kaitlyn is on her way to dancing like a pro. Kaitlyn knows exactly where every part of her body should be and she transitions between placements beautifully. This Rumba needed some more hip action and more of a dynamic between fast and slow, but nonetheless it was still excellent. Kaitlyn and Artem have a great connection with each other, so between that and Kaitlyn’s fantastic technique, these two might be unstoppable!




Vernon Davis & Peta

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Be Our Guest" from Beauty and the Beast

Scores - 8,7,7 = 22/30

My score - 7


In all honesty, I found the footwork to be messy and I would like to see Vernon work on his frame for future ballroom dances, but besides that, this was definitely his breakout dance.




Nev Schulman & Jenna

Dance - Argentine tango

Song - "Angelica" from Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides

Scores - 8,8,8 = 24/30

My score - 7.5


This dance was amazing but, Nev needs to stabilize himself more and sharpen his legs a bit.




Johnny Weir & Britt

Dance - Rumba

Song - "Reflection" from Mulan

Scores - 8,8,8 = 24/30

My score - 8


This Rumba suited Johnny’s manner of motion so well! Much like with Kaitlyn’s Rumba, I would have liked to see more hip action in this dance. At times, the dance felt sort of stop-and-go, but most of the routine had great transitions and amazing ease of movement.




Jesse Metcalfe & Sharna

Dance - Jive

Song - "King Of New York" from Newsies

Scores - 7,6,7 = 20/30

My score - 6


This dance could have used some work. Jesse had great flair and really sold his character, but his feet had trouble keeping up. He needs to point his toes, and he needs to commit to fully completing his leg action.




Chrishell Stause & Gleb

Dance - Waltz

Song - "A Dream Is A Wish You Heart Makes" from Cinderella

Scores - 7,7,8 = 22/30

My score - 8


Chrishell was a beautiful Disney princess and Gleb was a dashing Prince Charming. This Waltz was a big improvement from Chrishell’s previous dances. With that being said, Chrishell had a pretty yet strong hold, although I can’t really comment on her footwork because her feet were covered by that super long dress for nearly the entire routine. There wasn’t much content in hold for this dance, but besides one clunky step, it flowed nicely. This dance was stunning and Chrishell looked beyond stunning.




Anyway, that's it for this blog post.

~Brianna

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page