top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 29, Week 2

Ty guys! Welcome back to another blog post.

Today, I am doing my week 2 DWT recap, so, let's just get into it.



Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Dynamite" by BTS

Scores - 7,7,7 = 21/30

My score: 7


This dance was amazing but I just think his technique came off as a bit too safe for dances like the cha cha. But, he does have great poise & control.




Skai Jackson & Alan Bersten

Dance - samba

Song - "Miss Independent" by Ne-yo

Scores - 5,5,5 = 15/30

My score - 6


Okay, WTF were those 5s? Okay, so, Skai made a little mistake. Little, but noticeable. Other than that, the dance was great but it still managed to get a LOWER score than Carole Baskin. I'm just confused.

The only part about it that I wanna talk about is, after the mistake, Skai seemed a little sidetracked and the dance was a little out of sync sometimes. But, it still didn't deserve 5s.




Johnny Weir & Britt Stewart

Dance - tango

Song - "Poker face" by Lady Gaga

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


I loved this dance but I felt the frame was a bit all over the place at times, causing the dance to come off as a bit choppy.




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Dance - foxtrot

Song - "What you believe" by Mariah Carey & Whitney Houston

Scores - 7,7,7 = 21/30

My score - 7


This dance was beautiful! I loved it! However, I did notice that whenever Justina got out of one of her turns, she shuffled a little bit but other than that, it was absolutely amazing!




Monica Aldama & Val Chmerkovskiy

Dance - Jive

Song - "Shake it off" by Taylor Swift

Scores - 5,6,5 = 16/30

My score - 6


This dance was really good but I wish Monica lifted her legs a little bit higher and I felt like she give off a lot of energy which I was hoping she would.




Aj Mclean & Cheryl Burke

Dance - foxtrot

Song - "Ain't that a kick in the head" by Dean Martin

Scores - 7,6,6 = 19/30

My score - 7


I loved this dance but I think all Aj needs to do to get 8's or higher is loosen up his shoulder a little bit and put more flexibility in his feet. Once he does that, he'll get wayyyy higher scores.




Anne Heche & Keo Motsepe

Dance - foxtrot

Song - "Counting stars" by One Republic

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


I really liked this dance. However, Anne doesn't quite have the rise-and-fall for this dane down yet but she definitely went for it.




Nelly & Daniella Karagach

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Let's Groove" by Earth, wind, and fire

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


Okay, first of all, entertainment-wise, this dance was my favorite dance of the entire night and I love that song!

The only critiques I have is he seems a little uncomfortable and stiff, so I want to see him loosen up and become more comfortable while he's dancing and he will be a front runner.

He is one of my favorites, though and I would love to see him win (if Skai doesn't haha).




Chrishell Stause & Gleb Savchenko

Dance - rumba

Song - "This is me" by Keala Settle

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


Okay, first, I wanna say that Chrishell is absolutely stunning and she whole dance was stunning.

However, I do want Chrishell to work on her footwork a little more and get her hips moving a bit more. Then, she will get 7s, 8s, or maybe 9s.




Charles Oakley & Emma Slater

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Never too much" by Luther Vandross

Scores - 5,5,5 = 15/30

My score - 5


Unfortunately, this couple was the first to be eliminated which is sad because I really liked them as a team. I thought this dance was much better than his salsa last week but there were times in this dance that felt a little robotic and his footwork could have been a bit better. Nonetheless, I will miss this team!




Jesse Metcalfe & Sharna Burgess

Dance- foxtrot

Song - "Dreams" by Fleetwood Mac

Scores - 7,7,6 = 20/30

My score - 6


This dance was pretty good but he still needs to work on a couple of things which are his footwork (which I found was a bit stompy in this performance) and his technique but besides that, I really enjoyed this dance and Sharna looked so pretty!




Jeannie Mai & Brandon Armstrong

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Roses" by Saint Jhn

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


Somebody had a little too much fun using the audience sound effects button behind the scenes… I definitely heard some accidental booing that was quickly turned off at the beginning of this performance. The audience reactions throughout this whole performance seemed very off, actually. Anyway, this Cha-Cha was so fun and entertaining, but as Jeannie continues to progress on the show, I hope to see her channel her amazing excitement a little differently so her performances can come off as a little more controlled. Overall, this was a great dance!




Carole Baskin & Pasha Pashkov

Dance - Viennese waltz

Song - "What's new, pussycat?" by Tom Jones

Scores - 6,5,5 = 16/30

My score - 6


I LOVED the set for this dance. Yeah, it was another cat-themed dance, but it was fun and I'm honestly loving the cat themed performances haha. This was a simple routine, but Carole matched the music pretty well and showcased some elegance. But at the end of the day, Carole had trouble with her turns but hopefully she'll fix that up in her next dance.




Vernon Davis & Peta Murgatroyd

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "We found love" by Rihanna

Scores - 6,6,6= 18/30

My score - 5


This dance was quite owerful! As much as I appreciate how much Vernon gets into his dances, I have to admit, I don’t think Vernon fully grasps how to properly shift his weight and shape his lines yet, so I would like to see him work on that for his next “intense” performance. To use a quote from Len Goodman from years ago, Vernon’s “got the guns but not the ammunition.”




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Dance - foxtrot

Song - "I hope you dance" by Lee Ann Womack

Scores - 7,8,7 = 22/30

My score - 8


After some dramatic buildup as to whether or not Kaitlyn would perform due to her foot injury, Kaitlyn came out and performed the highest scored dance of the night! She got a deserving score, but I think her foot might have impeded a bit because I saw a couple hiccups in the feet department. It was barely noticeable, though. Kaitlyn and Artem have made a bigger impression on me this week than they did last week, which is great to see because I was starting to worry that they might blend in a little too much. This Foxtrot was certainly a standout, though,and it showed how beautiful her way of movement is.



So, that it for today's blog post!

Come back later this week for another one,

~Brianna.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page