top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 29, Week 1

Hey guys!

Welcome back to another blog post!

This week, I am going to start doing blog posts twice a week until sometime in November.

So, I'm going to post a regular blog sometime each week and a DWTS recap every Monday.

So, DWTS season 29 started last Monday (September 14th) with a new host (Tyra Banks) and the same judges (Carrie Ann and Bruno), however, because of travelling issues, Len will not be able to judge this season so Derek Hough will take his spot as a judge this season but Len will make some appearances this season (although he will not be there physically).

So, I'm just going to get into it!



AJ McLean & Cheryl Burke

Dance - Jive

Song - "Blinding Lights" by The Weeknd

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


This dance was a great way to kick off the season. It was a fun routine and it was pretty good for the most part. He definitely has a great sense of rhythm. However, he did mess up a little bit (just a little). There was a couple of missed hand grabs and when he jumped off the stairs at the beginning of the dance, he kind of stumbled a little bit but other than that, it was great!




Chrishell Stause & Gleb Savchenko

Dance - Tango

Song - "Raise Your Glass" by Pink

Scores - 4,5,4 = 13/30

My score - 5.5


Okay, firstly, why 4s?

Secondly, this dance is way better than how the judges explained it. Was it the best dance of the night? Not at all. But, the judges made it seem like it was pretty much the worst dance in DWTS history (based on how they were talking).

I didn't see any of the mistakes the judges saw but this dance was definitely a bit lopsided and it was very hectic and sloppy at times. But, I did not see any mistakes. If I was sitting at the judges table, maybe I would have seen the "mistakes" but because I was watching from home on TV, I never saw any mistakes.




Vernon Davis & Peta Murgatroyd

Dance - foxtrot

Song - "All of Me" by John Legend

Scores - 5,6,6 = 17/30

My score - 6


Okay, this dance was good and Vernon has a lot of potential. I just think he threw his extentions around in this dance and he doesn't look that comfortable with it yet.

There is potential there, though and I think he will do better in the coming weeks.




Anne Heche & Keo Motsepe

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Don't start now" by Dua Lipa

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


Anne pleasantly surprised me. I loved this dance!

This dance was great but Anne seemed to get a little in her head during some parts of the performance but other than that, it was great for week 1!




Jeannie Mai & Brandon Armstrong

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Tell it to my heart" by Taylor Dayne

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


Okay, this dance was amazing! I loved every bit of it. I just wish Jeannie had been a bit more stable/grounded and had more hip action.

With that being said, she has LOADS of potential and she'll definitely be one to watch.

Side note: the lifts were amazing!




Jesse Metcalfe & Sharna Burgess

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Part-time lover" by Stevie Wonder

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 6


First of all, I'm so glad that Sharna is back!

Secondly, this dance was very good! Quickstep is one of the hardest dances to do, especially in the first week and Jesse did it much better than I expected.

He was slightly off Sharna at times, which is quite noticeable, especially in dances like the quickstep but other than that, it was great!




Skai Jackson & Alan Bersten

Dance - tango

Song - "super bass" by Nicki Minaj

Scores - 7,7,7 = 21/30

My score - 7


Okay, let me just say that when I heard that Skai was gonna be on the show this season, I flipped. I've basically watched Skai grow up on TV. First, I watched her on Jessie (side note: Zuri was one of my favorite characters) and then I watched her on Bunk'd (the Jessie spinoff).

I adore her!

Okay, now onto the dance! This dance was one of the best of the night, in my opinion.

All I'm gonna say is she needs to work on her fluidity in her movement a little and she will be phenomenal.




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Dance - Cha cha

Song - "Stupid love" by Lady Gaga

Scores - 6,7,7 = 20/30

My score - 7


I liked this dance but it just felt very safe at times and I think some of Kaitlyn's movements could've been more sharper but overall, it was still a great dance and I love the song choice haha!




Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Dance - fxotrot

Song - "The way you look tonight" by Frank Sinatra

Scores - 7,7,6 = 20/30

My score - 7


Wow! I didn't know what to expect from Nev but I didn't expect this! He definitely surprised me!

This dance is definitely one of my favorites of the night and I always find myself watching three dances from this week and this dance is one of them.

The only critique that I have is he needs to work on his posture a little more. Other than that, this dance was phenomenal and you can tell he has so much charisma, he's really putting in the effort and you can tell he really wants to be there!




Johnny Weir & Britt Stewart

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Buttons" by The Pussycat Dolls

Scores - 6,6,6 = 18/30

My score - 7.5


Holy shit! This was incredible. Definitely one of my favorite week 1 performances of all time and definitely ridiculously underscored.

The only critique I have for this one is I wish Johnny could have had more "POW" to some of his movements but other than that, this was, in my opinion, the best dance of the night.

Also, congrats to Britt for becoming the first african-american female pro! I love Britt!!




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Dance - cha cha

Song - "Respect" by Aretha Franklin

Scores - 7,7,7 = 21/30

My score - 7


I love Justina already! Her personality and her energy is next level!

All I want to say is I think she needs to center herself a bit more and she'll be perfect!




Charles Oakley & Emma Slater

Dance - Salsa

Song - "In da club" by 50 cent

Scores - 4,4,4 = 12/30

My score - 4


I don’t know what it is, but there is something so wholesome about Charles and Emma dancing together. Emma always takes good care of her partners, and I think Charles reciprocates that back to her. This obviously wasn’t the best Salsa ever, but I can’t help but to love it. This man has a great personality, even if his footwork is stompy and his movement is stocky. What matters is that his heart is in the game, and that couldn’t be any more the case.




Monica Aldama & Val Chmerkovskiy

Dance - foxtrot

Song - "My wish" by Rascal Flatts

Scores - 6,7,6 = 19/30

My score - 6


Monica has some really impressive lines and a nice way of carrying herself, although I would say that her sway was a bit heavy and her turns could use refinement. Monica and Val didn’t stand out too much to me on Monday night, but I still really liked their Foxtrot.




Nelly & Daniella Karagach

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Ride wit me" by Nelly

Scores - 5,5,6 = 16/30

My score - 5


This Salsa was just a good time all around. Nelly looked like he was living in the moment and Daniella was absolutely slaying her dancing as always. Nelly did a fine job, but he needs to not be as closed off with this movement. He looked comfortable in the ballroom, but he is certainly out of his element. These two are one of my favorite couples this season, so I really want them to succeed! (Side note: Daniella is absolutely stunning)




Carole Baskin & Pasha Pashkov

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Eye of the tiger" by Survivor

Scores - 4,4,3 = 11/20

My score - 4


Well, it happened. Carole Baskin danced a Paso Doble to “Eye of the Tiger” on Dancing with the Stars. Pasha gave Carole challenging but fitting choreography, and Carole executed it to what seemed to be the best of her abilities. Her shaping was all off and her posture wasn’t quite what it should have been, but she was a good sport about everything. Do I think that this couple can go far? I’m not sure. I’m not entirely convinced that they will be out first simply because this is Carole Baskin we’re talking about (and this dance was #1 trending on YouTube for a while), but I don’t know if this is necessarily going to be another Sean Spicer-type of situation or not. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.




So, that's it for today's blog post! This week's episode of DWTS was moved to Tuesday instead of Monday due to football so, I had a bit of extra time to make today's blog post haha!

Anyway, in my next blog post (on Thursday), I will do my predictions for WWE Clash of Champions and obviously I will do a recap of DWTS week 2 next Monday.

Until then,

~Brianna

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page