top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 31: Stars' Stories Week Recap

Hey guys! Welcome to my DWTS recap. This week was stars' stories week and DWTS was on both Monday and Tuesday night. Monday was Most Memorable Year night and Tuesday was Prom night. It was a very emotional week so let's get into it.



First, Most Memorable Year night.


Trevor & Emma

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Viva la Vida" by Coldplay

Most memorable year - 2009 - the year he realized his dream

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8.5

Every time I log on to Twitter, I see the same shit - "it was boring" "it was more of a contemporary" - and I actually disagree. I loved it (I also love the song) and I think that this was one of his best dances.

Check out their dance:



Shangela & Gleb

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "Roar (Acoustic)" by Katy Perry

Most memorable year - 2013 - the year she snapped her leg in two

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8

This was beautiful and they looked amazing. However, when she's in frame, she needs to lower her shoulders a bit but I still loved it.

Check out their dance:



Jessie & Alan

Dance - Tango

Song - "Blue Jeans" by Jessie James Decker

Most memorable year - 2014 - the year she became a mother

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 8, 7 = 29/40

My score - 8

This was pretty good and her frame was great. Her footwork still needs a bit more work, though.

Check out their dance:



Gabby & Val

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "If the World Should Ever Stop" by JP Cooper

Most memorable year - 2020 - the year she answered a call of duty

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 10

The fact that this didn't get at least one ten is beyond me. This was pretty much perfect. Her lines were gorgeous and her footwork was amazing.

Check out their dance:



Joseph & Daniella

Dance - Rumba

Song - "My Way" by Frank Sinatra

Most memorable year - 2022 - the year he did it his way

Judges' scores - 9, 8, 9, 8 = 34/40

My score - 9

This was definitely his best dance and I freaking loved it. His lines were beautiful and his hips were incredible.

Check out their dance:



Daniel & Britt

Dance - Contemporary

Song - "Both Sides, Now" by Joni Mitchell

Most memorable year - 2019 - the year his life changed and he acted in his first feature film

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 9, 9 = 34/40

My score - 9

This was beautiful and the lifts were incredible. One of the judges did say that one of the lifts did have a little mishap but I didn't even notice it until I rewatched it. It's pretty hard to notice so it didn't take anything away from the dance.

Check out their dance:



Jordin & Brandon

Dance - Salsa

Song - "Let's Get Married (ReMarqueable Remix)" by Jagged Edge ft. RUN

Most memorable year - 2017 - the year she found the love of her life

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 9 = 33/40

My score - 8.5

After rewatching it, I did love it a lot more than the first time I watched it but I just liked the other dances more. Yes, it was entertaining af but I feel like some of her movements were a bit "stumbly."

Check out their dance:



Charli & Mark

Dance - Contemporary

Song - "when the party's over" by Lewis Capaldi

Most memorable year - 2022 - the year she experienced growth and is learning to live with anxiety

Judges' scores - 10, 9, 10, 10 = 39/40

My score - 10

Oh. My. God. This was just breathtaking. I have not stopped watching this since Monday night and I am just in awe of this dance. Pure perfection.

Check out their dance:



Vinny & Koko

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Levels" by Avicii

Most memorable year - 2009 - the year that changed his life

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40 My score - 8.5

This was 100% his best dance. It was fun to watch and I absolutely loved it.

Check out their dance:



Heidi & Artem

Dance - Rumba

Song - "Can't Take My Eyes Off of You (I Love Baby)" by Lauryn Hill

Most memorable year - 1997 - the year she moved to nyc

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 9.5

This was freaking beautiful. Her lines were amazing, her hips were great, and those LEGS OMG. This was definitely one of her best dances. In-freaking-credible.

Check out their dance:



Wayne & Witney

Dance - Foxtrot

Song - "Beautiful" by Jim Brickman & Wayne Brady

Most memorable year - 2003 - the year his daughter was born

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 10 = 37/40

My score - 9.5

This was stunning. His lines were amazing and his frame was pretty much. I loved this dance.

Check out their dance:



Selma & Sasha

Dance - Waltz

Song - "What the World Needs Now Is Love" by Andra Day

Most memorable year - 2018 - the year she was diagnosed with MS

Judges' scores - 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score - 10

It was very heartbreaking to hear that she has to leave the competition but health does come first. She was a delight to watch and she was such a gem. I'm definitely going to miss watching her every week.

Check out their dance:


Those are all of the dances for Most Memorable Year night so, here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Charli & Mark's contemporary

  2. Wayne & Witney's foxtrot

  3. Selma & Sasha's waltz

  4. Gabby & Val's foxtrot

  5. Heidi & Artem's rumba

  6. Trevor & Emma's jazz

  7. Daniel & Britt's contemporary

  8. Joseph & Daniella's rumba

  9. Vinny & Koko's jazz

  10. Shangela & Gleb's foxtrot

  11. Jessie & Alan's tango

  12. Jordin & Brandon's jazz


Now, I will talk about the Prom night dances.


Daniel & Britt

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "SexyBack" by Justin Timberlake ft. Timbaland

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8

This was great. His footwork was a bit messy at times but I still loved it.

Check out their dance:



Heidi & Artem

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" by Cyndi Lauper

Judges' scores - 8, 9, 8, 8 = 33/40

My score - 8.5

This was fun to watch and I loved it. I still feel like her moves are a bit small and timid, though but it was such a cute dance and they looked amazing. I'm also still confused as to why they were in jeopardy.

Check out their dance:



Vinny & Koko

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "You and Me" by Lifehouse

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 7 = 28/40

My score - 7.5

I loved this and it was beautiful. It was a bit flat footed and he still needs a bit more work but his lines were good and this wasn't his worst dance. Koko looked stunning, too.

Check out their dance:



Shangela & Gleb

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Waiting for Tonight" by Jennifer Lopez

Judges' scores - 9, 8, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 9

OHHHHH SHE ATE THAT! This was incredible! Sure, the footwork could've been a tad better but this was 100000% her breakthrough performance. I am obsessed.

Check out their dance:



Charli & Mark

Dance - Jive

Song - "You Make My Dreams" by Hall & Oates

Judges' scores - 9, 10, 9, 10 = 38/40

My score - 9.5

This was incredible! The only thing about it is there was a moment in the dance where Mark was doing the kicks and Charli was just kinda walking but that didn't take away from the dance. I agree with the scores, too.

Check out their dance:



Jessie & Alan

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Breakaway" by Kelly Clarkson

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8.5

Okay, I loved her dress and the dance was great. However, for the first half of the dance, here frame looked kinda off to me but it got better during the second half of the dance. The footwork was nice, though.

Check out their dance:



Gabby & Val

Dance - Tango

Song - "Good Girls Go Bad" by Cobra Starship ft. Leighton Meester

Judges' scores - 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score - 10

I love a good Tango from Val and they ate this shit up! The lines, the footwork, THE FRAME! It was all so good.

Check out their dance:



Trevor & Emma

Dance - Jive

Song - "Basket Case" by Green Day

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8

This was so fun and I loved it. His kicks were really nice but I feel like he was a bit stiff at times but it was fun to watch and I'm glad they avoided the bottom two this week.

Check out their dance:



Joseph & Daniella

Dance - Cha Cha

Song - "Shut Up and Dance" by WALK THE MOON

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8.5

This was so so good. I love his lines and his hips were great. His footwork could've been a bit better at times but I still loved this and it sucks to see him go.

Check out their dance:



Jordin & Brandon

Dance - Contemporary

Song - "No Air" by Jordin Sparks & Chris Brown

Judges' scores - 9, 8, 9, 9 = 35/40

My score - 9.5

I freaking loved this! Her footwork was great and her lines were beautiful. I disagree with Len's comment about that one lift but I can see where he's coming from but I wouldn't take off one point because of it.

Check out their dance:



Wayne & Witney

Dance - Samba

Song - "It Takes Two" by Rob Base

Judges' scores - 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score - 10

AHHHH THAT'S MY TEAM! The choreo was insane and Wayne performed the shit out of it. I absolutely loved it. The way they're freestyle is going to slap, though (let's be real, they're gonna be in that finale). Ouuu, I'm so ready.

Check out their dance:


Prom night also featured the return of the dance marathon in which all couples danced at the same time and the judges will eliminated each couple one-by-one and the last couple standing was announced king and queen and got 11 points added to their score. Here is how it went:

  1. Jessie & Alan - 11 points

  2. Shangela & Gleb - 10 points

  3. Heidi & Artem - 9 points

  4. Trevor & Emma - 8 points

  5. Charli & Mark - 7 points

  6. Gabby & Val - 6 points

  7. Wayne & Witney - 5 points

  8. Joseph & Daniella - 4 points

  9. Jordin & Brandon - 3 points

  10. Vinny & Koko - 2 points

  11. Daniel & Britt - 1 point

So, those are all of the dances for Prom night. Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Shangela & Gleb's cha cha

  2. Charli & Mark's jive

  3. Wayne & Witney's samba

  4. Gabby & Val's tango

  5. Trevor & Emma's jive

  6. Jordin & Brandon's contemporary

  7. Joseph & Daniella's cha cha

  8. Jessie & Alan's viennese waltz

  9. Heidi & Artem's jazz

  10. Daniel & Britt's cha cha

  11. Vinny & Koko's viennese waltz


Next week is Michael Buble night. Michael Buble will also be a guest judge. Here are the dances for Michael Buble night:

  1. Wayne & Witney - Quickstep to "I Get A Kick Out Of You" by Michael Buble

  2. Charli & Mark - Foxtrot to "Fever" by Michael Buble

  3. Heidi & Artem - Samba to "It Had Better Be Tonight (Meglio Stasera)" by Michael Buble

  4. Jessie & Alan - Salsa to "Come Dance With Me" by Michael Buble

  5. Trevor & Emma - Foxtrot to "Come Fly With Me" by Michael Buble

  6. Daniel & Britt - Foxtrot to "Feeling Good" by Michael Buble

  7. Vinny & Koko - Cha Cha to "Save The Last Dance For Me" by Michael Buble

  8. Shangela & Gleb - Tango to "Hollywood" by Michael Buble

  9. Jordin & Brandon - Foxtrot to "You Make Me Feel So Young" by Michael Buble

  10. Gabby & Val - Rumba to "Home" by Michael Buble


So, that's it for this week's recap. Later this week, I will post another blog.

Before I sign off, I want to give a huge shoutout to my boyfriend, Isaac. I love and miss you so much.

Until next time,

Brianna.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page