top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 31, Halloween Night Recap

Hey guys! Welcome to another blog post.

Today, I am going to be doing my DWTS Halloween night recap. So, let's get into it.



First, the individual dances:

Jordin & Brandon

Dance - Tango

Song - "Oogie Boogie's Song" by Ed Ivory and Ken Page

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 9.5

Okay, the choreo was a serve and they looked amazing. I loved this. Her frame was great and her footwork was nice. I just liked some of the other dances more. It sucks that she had to go home, but she is such a class act and I'm going to miss watching her dance every week.

Check out their dance:



Charli & Mark

Dance - Argentine Tango

Song - "Tanguera" by Fabio Hager Sexteto

Judges' scores - 9, 10, 10, 10 = 39/40

My score - 9.5

This girl just doesn't miss. This was freaking phenomenal. I wish it had a little bit more attack but I freaking loved this.

Check out their dance:



Daniel & Britt

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Bury a Friend" by Billie Eilish

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 9, 9 = 34/40

My score - 8.5

I actually think that this was one of his best dances. I loved his lines and his shaping. However, I feel like some of his footwork was a little bit messy but this was a solid paso and I really enjoyed it.

Check out their dance:



Shangela & Gleb

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Look What You Made Me Do" by Taylor Swift

Judges' scores - 10, 10, 10, 10 = 40/40

My score - 10

YES SHANGELA! She ate and left ZERO crumbs. I agree that this was also Gleb's best choreo. I freaking loved this and it deserved a perfect score.

Check out their dance:



Vinny & Koko

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Get Ghost" by Mark Ronson, Passion Pit, ASAP Ferg

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 8, 8 = 30/40

My score - 8

I loved the looks and I actually think this was one of his best dances. I loved the lines, his shaping was pretty good. However, his footwork was a bit stompy. I loved the choreo, though and my favorite part of the dance was the side by side part when the beat dropped.

Check out their dance:



Heidi & Artem

Dance - Tango

Song - "I Wanna Be Your Slave" by Maneskin

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 10, 9 = 37/40

My score - 9

this was incredible and I loved the choreo. I also love the song. However, as great as this was, I honestly don't think this was her best dance. I just feel like her moves were a bit stiff and this wasn't as entertaining as some of her best dances.

Check out their dance:



Gabby & Alan

Dance - Argentine Tango

Song - "Shivers" by District 78 feat. Mikayla Lynn

Judges' scores - 10, 9, 9, 10 = 38/40

My score - 9.5

This was amazing! Her footwork was insane and her lines are so beautiful. There was a part of the dance where her footwork looked kinda off and messy but this was still so so good.

Check out their dance:



Wayne & Witney

Dance - Contemporary

Song - "Halloween theme" by District 78

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 10 = 37/40

My score - 10

My favorite of the night and probably one of the most underscored dances of the season. That's it.

Check out their dance:



Trevor & Emma

Dance - Contemporary

Song - "Ghost (Acoustic)" by Justin Bieber

Judges' scores - 10, 9, 10, 10 = 39/40

My score - 10

This was beautiful and I loved the concept. This was without a doubt his best dance. I can't say enough good things about it. His lines, his footwork, and the lifts. This was just everything. One of the best dances of the night.

Check out their dance:


Now, I will talk about the team dances:

Team Wicked

Team Wicked - Shangela & Gleb, Jordin & Brandon, Vinny & Koko, Heidi & Artem, Gabby & Alan

Song - "The Witches Are Back" from Hocus Pocus 2

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 9, 8 = 33/40

My score - 8

This was good and I did enjoy watching it. However, I feel like it was kinda messy sometimes.

Check out their dance:



Team Scream

Team Scream - Trevor & Emma, Daniel & Britt, Charli & Mark, Wayne & Witney

Song - "Heads Will Roll" by Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Judges' scores - 10, 9, 10, 10 = 39/40

My score - 9.5

This was so fun to watch. The only thing is some of the movements could've been a bit sharper but it was still amazing and I loved it.

Check out their dance:



Those are all of the dances. Now I will reveal my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Team scream dance

  2. Wayne & Witney's contemporary

  3. Gabby & Alan's argentine tango

  4. Trevor & Emma's contemporary

  5. Charli & Mark's argentine tango

  6. Shangela & Gleb's jazz

  7. Daniel & Britt's paso doble

  8. Jordin & Brandon's tango

  9. Heidi & Artem's tango

  10. Vinny & Koko's paso doble

  11. Team wicked dance


Next week is 90s night and it is also the quarter finals. Here are next week's dances:

  1. Wayne & Witney - Salsa to "Motownphilly" by Boyz II Men

  2. Charli & Mark - Tango to "Song 2" by Blur

  3. Heidi & Artem - Contemporary to "Ironic" by Alanis Morissette

  4. Trevor & Emma - Salsa to "Barbie Girl" by Aqua

  5. Daniel & Britt - Jazz to "Enjoy the Silence" by Depeche Mode

  6. Vinny & Koko - Tango to "What Is Love" by Haddaway

  7. Shangela & Gleb - Samba to "Spice Up Your Life" by Spice Girls

  8. Gabby & Val - Samba to "Livin' La Vida Loca" by Ricky Martin

There will also be relay dances this week where all couples will be paired into twos and they will dance to the same song (sort of like a dance-off). The winner of each relay dances will earn an additional 5 points to their overall score. Here are the relay dances:

  1. Shangela & Gleb vs Daniel & Britt - Cha Cha to "Ice Ice Baby" performed live by Vanilla Ice

  2. Vinny & Koko vs Trevor & Emma - Samba to "My Lovin' (You're Never Gonna Get It" performed live by En Vogue

  3. Heidi & Artem vs Wayne & Witney - Samba to "Shoop" by performed live by Salt-N-Pepa

  4. Charli & Mark vs Gabby & Val - Salsa to "Ain't Gonna Hurt Nobody" performed live by Kid 'N Play


So, that's it for this week's recap.

Later this week, I will be posting another blog post.

Until then,

~Brianna



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page