top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 31, Disney+ Night Recap

Hey guys! Welcome to my DWTS Disney+ night recap.

In this blog post, I will talk about all dances from Disney+ and give my scores and rankings for each of them. At the end, I will reveal the dances for this coming week.

So, let's get into it.



Joseph & Daniella

Dance - Charleston

Song - "A Star Is Born" from Hercules

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 7 = 28/40

My score - 7

I love Dani's choreo and her lifts are everything but there were like 10 lifts in this dance that didn't need to be there, honestly. Joseph also could've performed a little more to me but it was a pretty good and a nice way to open the show.

Check out their dance: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sO_W0FCVYrg


Sam & Cheryl

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "The Greatest Show" from The Greatest Showman

Judges' scores - 7, 6, 6, 6 = 25/40

My score - 6

This was okay. I just felt like he was walking and stomping the whole time. His knee walks were nice, though.



Jordin & Brandon

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Remember Me" from Coco

Judges' scores - 9, 8, 8, 9 = 34/40

My score - 9

This was definitely her breakthrough performance. I loved the choreo and I loved every second of it. They also looked so good.



Wayne & Witney

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Wait for It" from Hamilton

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 9

This was amazing. They were so in sync, it's insane. I've said this before and I'll say it again, this man can really perform and I'm so proud of them.



Daniel & Britt

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Finally Free" from High School Musical: The Musical: The Series

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 8 = 29/40

My score - 7.5

This was so cute! He did make some mistakes, though which is unfortunate but it happens.



Shangela & Gleb

Dance - Charleston

Song - "Dig a Little Deeper" from The Princess and the Frog

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8.5

I'm living for Gleb's choreo this season. Her technique is getting better and better each week. I feel like they should've gotten at least one 9, though.



Heidi & Artem

Dance - Viennese Waltz

Song - "Chim Chim Cher-ee" from Mary Poppins

Judges' scores - 9, 8, 8, 9 = 34/40

My score - 9

Oh, this was without a doubt her best dance so far and definitely a dance I rewatch over and over again. This was insanely good.



Gabby & Val

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "Mr. Blue Sky" from Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 7.5

This was great. However, I feel like this dance was overhyped. I just feel like she was kinda struggling to keep up with the speed of the dance. Yeah, still pretty good. Just not my favorite.



Trevor & Emma

Dance - Samba

Song - "Life Is a Highway" from Cars

Judges' scores - 7, 7, 7, 7 = 28/40

My score - 7.5

I actually loved this. It wasn't his best dance but it wasn't as bad as the judges were making it out to be. His footwork could've been better but I still enjoyed this so much and I'm glad he gets to stay another week.



Vinny & Koko

Dance - Samba

Song - "Il gatto e la volpe" from Luca

Judges' scores - 8, 7, 7, 7 = 29/40

My score - 7.5

I think this was his best dance. I loved the vibe of the dance and he performed it very well. He still needs to work on his footwork but this was great and I was very impressed.



Selma & Sasha

Dance - Quickstep

Song - "The Muppet Show Theme" from The Muppet Show

Judges' scores - 8, 8, 8, 8 = 32/40

My score - 8

Oh, I loved this. Her frame was amazing and her footwork was great. It just felt kinda slow for a quickstep but that didn't take anything away from it. It was definitely her best dance.



Jessie & Alan

Dance - Jive

Song - "One Way Or Another" from Hocus Pocus 2

Judges' scores - 8, 7, 8, 8 = 31/40

My score - 8.5

This was one of the dances I was most excited for. Part of the reason why I loved this dance so much was because I am literally obsessed with Hocus Pocus and they did the movie justice. Her kicks were pretty nice and this was definitely her breakthrough performance. I lowkey could not even tell Jessie & Sarah apart, honestly. I'm also going to rewatch this dance over and over again.



Charli & Mark

Dance - Jazz

Song - "The Simpsons Main Title Theme" from The Simpsons

Judges' scores - 9, 9, 9, 9 = 36/40

My score - 10

Okay, now why did this get NOT ONE TEN? This is 100% one of the best jazz's in DWTS history, in my opinion. This was way too underscored (even if it did get all 9s). It literally deserved all 10s and I will lowkey be kinda salty it didn't get a single 10 for the rest of my life haha. It was pure perfect and like Derek said, it will go viral.


So, those are all of the dances. Here are my rankings based on personal enjoyment:

  1. Charli & Mark's Jazz

  2. Jessie & Alan's Jive

  3. Wayne & Witney's Jazz

  4. Jordin & Brandon's Jazz

  5. Heidi & Artem's Viennese Waltz

  6. Selma & Sasha's Quickstep

  7. Daniel & Britt's Quickstep

  8. Trevor & Emma's Samba

  9. Shangela & Gleb's Charleston

  10. Vinny & Koko's Samba

  11. Gabby & Val's Quickstep

  12. Sam & Cheryl's Paso Doble

  13. Joseph & Daniella's Charleston


This week, DWTS is on both Monday & Tuesday night. Monday is Most Memorable Year night (I'm so glad they're bringing that theme back). Tuesday is Prom night. A few days ago, the press release came out so, here are the dances for this week (not in this order).


Monday (most memorable year night):

  1. Joseph & Daniella - Rumba to "My Way" by Frank Sinatra

  2. Selma & Sasha - Waltz to "What The World Needs Now Is Love" by Andra Day

  3. Wayne & Witney - Foxtrot to "Beautiful" by Jim Brickman & Wayne Brady

  4. Charli & Mark - Contemporary - "when the party's over" by Lewis Capaldi

  5. Heidi & Artem - Rumba to "Can't Take My Eyes Off You (I Love You Baby)" by Lauryn Hill

  6. Jessie & Alan - Tango to "Blue Jeans" by Jessie James Decker

  7. Trevor & Emma - Jazz to "Viva La Vida" by Coldplay

  8. Daniel & Britt - Contemporary to "Both Sides Now" by Joni Mitchell

  9. Vinny & Koko - Jazz to "Levels" by Avicii

  10. Shangela & Gleb - Foxtrot to "Roar (Acoustic)" by Katy Perry

  11. Jordin & Brandon - Salsa to "Let's Get Married (ReMarqable Remix)" by Jagged Edge ft. RUN

  12. Gabby & Val - Foxtrot to "If the World Should Ever Stop" by JP Cooper


Tuesday (prom night):

  1. Joseph & Daniella - Cha Cha to "Shut Up and Dance" by WALK THE MOON

  2. Selma & Sasha - Cha Cha to "I Will Survive" by Gloria Gaynor

  3. Wayne & Witney - Samba to "It Takes Two" by Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock

  4. Charli & Mark - Jive to "You Make My Dreams" by Daryl Hall & John Oates

  5. Heidi & Artem - Jazz to "Girls Just Want To Have Fun" by Cyndi Lauper

  6. Jessie & Alan - Viennese Waltz to "Breakaway" by Kelly Clarkson

  7. Trevor & Emma - Jive to "Basket Case" by Green Day

  8. Daniel & Britt - Cha Cha to "SexyBack" by Justin Timberlake ft. Timbaland

  9. Vinny & Koko - Viennese Waltz to "You and Me" by Lifehouse

  10. Shangela & Gleb - Cha Cha to "Waiting For Tonight" by Jennifer Lopez

  11. Jordin & Brandon - Contemporary to "No Air" by Jordin Sparks & Chris Brown

  12. Gabby & Val - Tango to "Good Girls Go Bad" by Cobra Starship ft. Leighton Meester

Prom night will also feature the return of the dance marathon where all couples will dance at the same time and one-by-one, they will be eliminated from the marathon (not the competition) by the judges. During the dance marathon, all couples will perform a Hustle to "Hot Stuff" by Donna Summer and a Lindy Hop to "Jump Jive An' Wail" by The Brian Seltzer Orchestra.



So, that's it for this week's recap. Before I sign off, I wat to give a huge shoutout to my amazing boyfriend, Isaac. I love you so much!

Until next time,

~Brianna.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page