top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS Season 29, Week 7 (Villains night)

Hey guys! Welcome back to another blog post.

Today, I'm going to be doing my recap for DWTS week 7 which was villains night.

So, let's get into it.



Jeannie Mai & Brandon Armstrong

Villain - Hannibal Lecter from "the silence of the lambs"

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Maneater" by Nelly Furtado

Scores - 8,9,8 = 25/30

My score - 8


This dance was really good. However, even though Jeannie was as powerful in her stature as she needed to be, she lacked shaping.




Johnny Weir & Britt Stewart

Villain - Count Dracula from "dracula"

Dance - Viennese waltz

Song - "Creep" by Vincint

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score - 9


This was a great routine that, with credit to Britt, checked off all the boxes for what I like to see in a Viennese Waltz. There was excellent sway, solid footwork, and amazing extensions. I think at one point Johnny was a bit ahead of the music, causing a timing issue between him and Britt, but once again, this couple delivered.




Chrishell Stause & Gleb Savchenko

Villain - Maleficent from "maleficent"

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "In the air tonight" by Helmut Vonlichten

Scores - 9,9,8 = 26/30

My score - 7


First of all, major props to the makeup and costume departments for Chrishell’s Maleficent look. The crew did a fantastic job on everyone’s looks Monday night, but Chrishell’s was particularly striking. Now for the Paso Doble. . . While I do give credit to Chrishell for holding her own more in this performance than any of her other performances, her manner of movement is a bit awkward and robotic, which translates poorly for the dance style. I’ve been wanting Gleb to challenge Chrishell more, which I think he has been doing, but I think Chrishell needs to better nail the basics before she gets into the more dramatic tonal elements of the dance.




Monica Aldama & Val Chmerkovskiy

Villain - Nurse Ratched from "one flew over the cuckoo's nest"

Dance - Jazz

Song - "Fever" by Beyonce

Scores - 7,8,7 = 22/30

My scores - 7.5


As good as this dance was, for some of the sexy parts of this dance, Monica didn't seem very confident and lack energy. However, this dance was very entertaining and I enjoyed it.




Aj Mclean & Cheryl Burke

Villain - Norman Bates from "psycho"

Dance - Tango

Song - "Psycho" by Intermezzo Orchesta

Scores - 9,8,9 = 26/30

My score - 9


This dance was probably the best dance of the night for me! Cheryl choreographed to the music very well and Aj embodied the character extremely well. He also caught up with the fast pace of the dance with relative ease. I just think Aj could've maintained more stability but this was phenomenal.




Nelly & Daniella Karagach

Villain - Freddy Krueger from "nightmare on elm street"

Dance - Argentine Tango

Song - "Can't feel my face" by The Weeknd

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score - 9


This is easily Nelly's best dance. He did a great job of showcasing the sick and twisted yet charming and silly characteristics of Freddy. He is carrying himself more and more dynamically every single week and I love seeing his progression as a performer.

His footwork still needs some improvement and his shoulders still need to loosen up a bit more but both of those things are miles better than they were at the beginning of the season.




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Villain - Carrie White from Carrie

Dance - Tango

Song - "Take me to church" by MILCK

Scores - 9,9,8 = 26/30

My score - 9


Again, this is one of my favorite dances of the night. Justina played the character extremely well but there was a bit of bounce that had to be eliminated to make this tango more tango-like if that makes sense. Either way, I loved this performance and I've watched it on youtube multiple times already.




Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Villain - Black Swan from "black swan"

Dance - Paso Doble

Song - "Swan lake remix" by District 78

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Best dance of the season. Period. That's all I'm gonna say.




Skai Jackson & Alan Bersten

Villain - Tiffany Valentine from "bride of chucky"

Dance - Argentine tango

Song - "everything i wanted" by Billie Eilish

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score - 9


First of all, I'm obsessed with Billie Eilish so I love the song choice.

As for the dance, I believe that Skai does better with the more intense style of dances so the bride of chucky was a great dance for her to capture. She was in the zone with the soft intensity that the song allowed for, and the literal killer and connection between her and Alan was pretty convincing. There was a good variety of legwork and lifts in this Argentine Tango, and the execution was excellent. I saw a couple minor fumbles, but luckily they were not to the same magnitude as the fumbles in their Samba and Cha-Cha. Plus, Skai was able to recover with ease this time around.




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Villain - Cruella Deville from 101 Dalmatians

Dance - Paso doble

Song - "Disturbia" by Rihanna

Scores - 7,9,8 = 24/30

My score - 7.5


While I did like this Paso Doble quite a bit, it seemed to be a bit of an off week for Kaitlyn compared to her other dances. Some of the sections were very clearly rushed, and the overall routine was just a little too hectic. But still, it was a cute dance and it was lots of fun!



So, that's it for this weeks DWTS recap.

~Brianna

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page