top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

DWTS 2020, Week 10

Hey guys!

Welcome back to another blog post.

Today, I'm going to do my recap for the semi finals of DWTS.

So, let's get into it.



Skai Jackson & Alan Bersten

Redemption dance - cha cha

Song - "move your feet" by Junior Senior

Original cha cha - week 6 (score - 18/30)

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27,30

My score - 10


I’m glad that Skai finally got to the point where she is confident enough with going hard in her dances, giving us lots of energy without hesitancy. She was sharp and she was controlled. All three of the judges gave this dance a 9, but I’d give it a 10. There wasn’t anything I didn’t like about it!




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Redemption dance - tango

Song - "el tango de roxanne" by Jose Feliciano, Ewan McGregor, & Jacek Koman

Original tango - week 7 (score - 26/30)

Scores - 9,10,9 (28/30)

My score - 9


In my opinion, Justina has become the best overall performer this season. I would say that Justina is the most memorable personality this season. I would also say that she is one of the most entertaining people this season. She is a joy to watch, I always get excited when she goes onto the dance floor, and this Tango was not an exception. Even though there was some shifting in the hold at times, Justina and Sasha were tight and sharp.




Johnny Weir & Britt Stewart

Redemption dance - salsa

Song - "X" by the Jonas Brothers

Original salsa - week 6 (score - 26/30)

Scores - 9,9,9 = 27/30

My score - 10


In their original Salsa, Johnny wasn’t quite grounded enough, and it was the only time this season where it seemed like Johnny felt unsure about himself. But this time around, there was very impressive footwork and lots of fun hip action.




Nelly & Daniella Karagach

Redemption dance - paso doble

Song - "run boy run" by Woodkid

Original paso doble - week 4 (score: 21/30)

Scores - 9,8,9 = 26/30


Nelly demonstrated artistry in his way of movement this week, most notably in his newly refined armwork. He lost some balance and control a few times, though, and because it is the Semi-Finals, small things like that get amplified even more. Do I think he is the strongest dancer left? No. Technique-wise, he is arguably the weakest dancer left. But that doesn’t mean he isn’t a solid contender.




Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Redemption dance - foxtot

Song - "sign of the times" by Harry Styles

Original foxtrot - week 1 (score - 20/30)

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Nev did everything he had to do to prove himself in this redemption dance. His butt was tucked in, he had nice lines, and he flowed nicely with Jenna. Another solid performance from these two.




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Redemption dance - paso doble

Song - "hanuman" by Rodrigo y Gabriela

Original paso doble - week 7 (scores - 24/30)

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 9


This was amazing but Kaitlyn could have had a bit more attack. But hey, it was one of my favorite dances of the night.




Now, onto round 2.




Justina Machado & Sasha Farber

Dance - contemporary

Song - "holding out for a hero" by Ella Mae Bowen & Bonnie Tyler

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


It was a sweet routine that once again highlighted Justina’s very nice extensions. Sasha’s choreography was low-key, but it was effective.




Skai Jackson & Alan Bersten

Dance - viennese waltz

Song - "lonely" by Noah Cyrus

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Skai and Alan have had a bumpy journey this season, but they reached a point of consistency that really proved themselves to be serious competitors. Unfortunately, though, it seems like the audience didn’t quite see what I see in this couple since they ended up in the bottom three and were eliminated this week. I hate to see Skai go, but like I’ve been saying all season, the competition has been super close. At least she got to leave on a high note, though. This Viennese Waltz had elegance, poise, refinement, and everything else that makes a good Viennese Waltz.




Johnny Weir & Britt Stewart

Dance - jazz

Song - "i lived" by OneRepublic

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Johnny and Britt are so good at creating feel-good routines, and I think this Jazz was the epitome of that. The performance had a nice nostalgic feel to it, and the content was both plentiful and impactful.




Nev Schulman & Jenna Johnson

Dance - contemporary

Song - "if the world was ending" by JP Saxe & Julia Michaels

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


here were quite a few emotionally impactful dances Monday night, but I would say that Nev and Jenna’s Contemporary was the most impactful of them all. Not only did this dance have a triumphant feel to it during this very bleak time in the world, but the content was very well-executed. Every motion was performed with intent and precision. And not to mention the nice, dynamic choreography that Jenna brought to the table for this routine.




Nelly & Daniella Karagach

Dance - jive

Song - "jump, jive, an' wail" by the Brian Setzer Orchestra

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Where did that come from? Okay, let me just say this: during the whole performance and even like 1 hour later, my jaw was on the floor. That's all I'm gonna say.




Kaitlyn Bristowe & Artem Chigvintsev

Dance - contemporary

Song - "cowboy take me away" by the chicks

Scores - 10,10,10 = 30/30

My score - 10


Monday was quite the emotional night for all of these Contemporary and Contemporary-esque dances, but Kaitlyn and Artem managed not to feel stale with this dance finishing off the night. Props to these two for always capturing the perfect tone in their performances.




So, that's it for this weeks blog post.

Until next week,

~Brianna

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page