top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Blake

1 Star Reviews of my Favorite Books

Hey guys! Welcome to another blog post.

I made a TikTok similar to this on my booktok account a couple of months ago but, this week, I am going to list some of my favorite books and some 1 star reviews for them (obviously, these aren't my reviews lol).

So, let's get into it.


  1. 100% Match by Patrick C Harrison III - "I don't think I'll ever enjoy a fast food burger again."

  2. Regretting You by Colleen Hoover - "Done with CoHo. Never speak her name in my presence."

  3. Collide -by Gail McHugh - "this was... awful. we have emily, a complete f**king idiot. we have dillon, the abusive cheating boyfriend. and then we have gavin who is sweet and extremely boring. obvious love triangle situation. so many issues here. 1. it was so unclear whether or not our author was trying to condemn the abuse that emily suffers or if she thought it was just convenient to have emily have an incredibly shitty boyfriend that she could leave for another man 2. same as 1, but like... lazy lazy lazy writing 3. same as 1 and 2 but also uh abuse isn't something that should be peppered in because you can't think of a better/more convincing/angsty reason why two people aren't necessarily supposed to be end game major trigger warning for sexual assault at the end of the book."

  4. Pulse by Gail McHugh - "I liked Collide. I didn't like Pulse. Gavin's character turned into a pansy.I was always waiting for something to happen, nothing did. It was just a collection of thoughts and feelings repeating the same thing over and over. I'm so disappointed. I really wanted to like this book."

  5. Delia Suits Up by Amanada Aksel - "Please, for the love of God, run in the opposite direction of this book."

  6. Divine by Karen Kingsbury - "Terrible! The overly-simplistic storytelling read at about a third grade level and grated on my nerves so much that I found myself genuinely not caring about what would happen to the protagonist. I'm a little insulted that the author felt the need to dumb the story down so much, really. I forced my way to read about a third of it before finally giving up. I think I lost several hundred brain cells in the interim.

  7. The Bad Daughter by Joy Fielding - "I HATED this book. It was terrible. Bad dialogue and unrealistic characters. The use of italics to show what the main character was thinking after every sentence was so annoying! Also, she (the main character) was a therapist who had clearly never been in therapy. Do not recommend."

  8. The Perfect Christmas by Debbie Macomber - "Ridiculous. An insult to all womankind."

  9. Layla by Colleen Hoover - "I hate Leeds so much. He doesn't have a single good trait. And I still haven't recovered from the part where he ate a strand of Layla's hair."

  10. Marked by PC & Kristin Cast - "Hypersexed, boy-crazy, annoying teens. Plus some uninteresting supernatural stuff every once in awhile. For a series that involves so many teenagers having sex, these books sure aren't very sexy."

  11. Betrayed by PC & Kristin Cast - "Still trying to figure out what's so good about a girl who can't say 'shit' but can call someone s!ut and hag with the blink of an eye, for having sex with her own boy friend (or ex-boyfriend). And yet she is dating 2 boys at the same time, and having sex with the one that is not her boyfriend. Also, the writing is pitiful."

  12. Chosen by PC & Kristin Cast - "homophobic stereotypes, internalised misogyny, predatory men, not-so-subtle racism, derogatory comments towards the homeless... [slaps cover of book] this baby's got it all!"

  13. U Against You by Fredrik Backman - "Another book I will put in my "why did I bother finishing" category."

  14. Little Mercies by Heather Gudenkauf - "This book was just boring, a miracle I finished it."


So, that's it for this week's blog post.

Until next time,

~Brianna.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page